Skip to content

Time Together

November 27, 2021

As my dad would often say- value the time you have with each other-
you don’t know when it will be the last time.

The last phone call.
The last dinner together.
The last beer out with friends.
The last walk through the park holding hands.
The last time you play together on the street, the court, the field.
We never know what the future holds for ourselves, and for those who we hold close to our hearts.

This is Anthony, Pete’s son.
Dad is in Comfort Care, per his own request, with multiple organ failure.
His children are by his side. We have all prayed together. He has been blessed.
We talk to him, sometimes he moves his hands, a flicker of a smile, or peaceful snoring.

He will soon walk again in peace with his wife, Terry.
But he is still with us as we say our goodbyes.
Join us in prayer, in whatever faith you follow, for a smooth transition.

And think of those times we did spend together, enjoying each others company.




12 Comments leave one →
  1. john permalink
    November 27, 2021 2:30 pm

    oh my, I simply do not know what to say–You all have been blessed with each other and in a Christian family and home, and the assurance of Life With Christ afterwards.
    Pete, 73 , to you and your Blessed Family..sk john w8wej

    Like

  2. November 27, 2021 2:34 pm

    Godspeed to Pete.

    Like

  3. Jon Rukavina permalink
    November 27, 2021 4:18 pm

    When I read the first two lines of the posting, I knew it wasn’t good news. I am, of course, saddened by this as I’m sure all the readers of this blog & his friends & family are.
    I think I found Pete’s blog when I was a commenter on the old Arctic Cam, which was years ago.
    My wife and I traveled to Alaska in 2015 & on our way to Prudhoe Bay, stopped at Pete’s place to shake hands of the person holding the “pen” of this blog. Back in Fairbanks, we had lunch & then went out to the Blue Lagoon? & met Trisha.
    Again, I knew Pete had been in poor health for awhile but I’m still saddened by this news. Always seems to be a shock when you find out the end is near for a friend and a wonderful person like Pete.
    May God bless his soul on his final journey and continued blessings to Anthony, Trisha, and the family.
    Rest in peace, Pete.
    Jon

    Like

    • TriciaLynn Burokas permalink
      November 28, 2021 2:08 am

      Jon, so my brother told me today when he loged onto my dads computer there was a 2 letters, one for me and 1 for my brother and there was 1 last blog post, and that is all I know. So we arent done just yet here and I hope my dad’s blog will continue to get shared and discovered by new readers for years to come. If only my dad realized what a talented story teller he was. And thank you for your kindwords Jon.

      Like

  4. November 27, 2021 5:14 pm

    So sorry

    Like

  5. November 27, 2021 9:33 pm

    OMG Pete – I just sent you an email regarding one you’d sent to me a few days earlier; I detected no unusual sentiments or resignation in your message! My dear Friend, I know you led a wonderful life and only in these last few years has the deterioration of your physical health slowed you. We both shared a love of Alaska and were united by this very special bond. I know you’ve always been the master of your own destiny so if this is what you desire then I support it 100%. Pete, you are an amazing individual and you’ve made an indelible mark in my life; God Speed to you, my Friend!!

    Like

  6. November 28, 2021 1:07 am

    This only works, if you had, established that strong bond with your children when they were, still, quite young, because, if you hadn’t, set up that strong enough, relationship with them, when you grow old, they would not, want to be around you, because you never, put in the time to spend with them, when they were still, young children…

    Like

    • TBG permalink
      November 28, 2021 8:05 am

      Dear Pete.

      Although I’ve never had the pleasure of meeting you, I’ve been blessed to know you through your writings, and your comments on my wife’s blog. You’re a great American, thanks for sharing your love of this great country with us. My last best time with you, is all of the time I’ve had with you. I will miss you and your thoughts.

      Thank you Anthony for letting us faithful Pete Followers know what is going on despite your need to be focused on Pete and your family. I’m thankful you have been able to tie the appropriate bow on Pete’s blog. I wish you all well in such a time.

      Mark (TBG)

      Like

  7. Jennifer Gaffney Bishop permalink
    November 28, 2021 10:26 am

    I’m so sorry for your loss

    Like

  8. November 28, 2021 10:27 pm

    Our prayers are with you Pete and your family. Your voice will be missed here.
    ’73
    Mark @ Living a Sustainable Dream

    Like

  9. Del Hoskins permalink
    November 29, 2021 7:20 am

    Like Jon I found Pete thru the Fairbanks daily message boards and Anthony did steer me here.. As like Jon did, I was planning to go to AK to see my family and made it a priority to Joy to meet Pete. Reminded me of my days out at Eureka back in the early 80’s. Good Man..

    All I can say to you Anthony and Tricia is you all are in our prayers…. God speed Pete..

    Liked by 1 person

  10. December 7, 2021 11:13 pm

    Pete, My thoughts and prayers are definitely with you and your family right now. We never met in person, but I thoroughly enjoyed it when we “met up” here. Your visits added a lot to my little world between the circles. – Mike

    Like

Leave a comment