Skip to content

The scary doorway…. a personal observation

June 26, 2020

The world has gotten a lot scarier over the past few months and living alone like I and others that I know and love makes dealing with this unknown, unfamiliar world all the more scary and lonely.

Personally I did manage well living for 14 years “alone” in a cabin in the woods, but I was never truly alone because I could walk or drive to a friends home or I would have a visit from my children who at the time lived in Philadelphia and Texas. I could welcome them with the traditional hug that though many do not understand could recharge one’s soul from a drought of loneliness.

Now we have the threat of the coronavirus holding me back from that hugging and recharging of my soul and when you add on the insanity, stupidity and total lack of respect for our nation and its founding fathers exhibited by tens of thousands…. well my soul wilts and my depression grows.

However unlike some that I love much too much for words, I always have the unselfish love of my nearby grandchildren to reach out to when things get overwhelming.

To those who do not have this ‘safety net’ I say when there is no one that will just sit and absorb your pain and help you get back on your road of life turn to your family and cling to them for they have no ax to grind except your well being!

If your present situation stops you from forgetting the pain than you must distance yourself from the physical closeness of those bad memories find your path where you mind will not continually go back to things best forgotten and yes that somewhere else may not be a place you would choose but it is one your soul needs.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon Rukavina permalink
    June 26, 2020 7:36 pm

    Glad to hear you’re hanging in there, Pete.
    Where is the pic with the bus? (I know it’s not the one the goofy McCandless camped out in west of Healy)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. June 26, 2020 11:14 pm

    It’s very important, to have the emotional support of those you love, knowing that they’ll, always be there by your side no matter what…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. TBG permalink
    June 29, 2020 9:00 am

    My sense is society is rife with others who want and need social contact. While some of the youth throw caution to the wind filling their need in bars and beaches…, the reality is most of us can get this same need mostly fulfilled if we just used our heads. It may not be family, but don’t underestimate how much of a charge you can get by offering some refreshments to neighbors/friends/family in an outdoor setting with 6′ of distancing as an example.

    Need a hug? Find others willing to avoid human contact for 2 weeks and hug away! Don’t wait for it to happen, make it happen.

    To your health & well-being.

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 29, 2020 10:24 am

      TBG your words are like a fine meal
      both satisfying for the body and nourishing for the soul.

      They must be like how you feel at times on your hikes when you are unexpectedly confronted with unbelievable beauty.

      Like

Leave a comment