Skip to content

Have you seen this man?

May 22, 2016

Missing…… A 70 year old curmudgeon with a intermittent limp, selectively deaf and usually heard to be mumbling to himself. If you see this man please do not approach him, especially in the early mornings peteand if he is eating dinner never…. never interrupt him, but please contact well other than myself I do not know who would want to know where he is.

In looking back at the postings since the beginning of the year it is sadly obvious that the majority of these articles had a more personal bent. The normal interval of political satire interspersed with random offbeat or interesting social postings had definitely been put on hold. I do have a solid basis for that dry spell based on the fact that I had no internet with witch to read, in depth, the news of the world.

But in all honesty I still had my constant companion the radio and did hear every dumb political incident and international disaster. Many times, over those months, I stopped what I was doing and scribbled notes for a posting, though they were never to see the light of day because I was too wrapped up in my own personal struggle with my upcoming departure from Alaska.

I do feel I have short changed many of you who visited my cyber-home for interesting tales of Alaska or that old curmudgeon’s view of the continuing total idiocy that we call politics and the national insanity of Political correctness. I do however understand that there were many who enjoyed my sharing the psychological turmoil of the move and the actual road trip. So one can only hope, with a refreshed internet connection, I can win back the hearts and minds of those who have gone astray in search of that curmudgeon on other blogs.

 

To those who have walked my cyber-roadway

and waited for many months

I fondly use the words of Mr. Nicholson

I’m Back

i'm back

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2016 10:02 am

    I’ve only just started following you, but I like the way you write, so I think I’ll stick around for a while. I’ll help you catch up on politics: A megalomaniac nut is running against a mealy-mouthed crook. We have to decide which one we dislike the most, then vote for the other one. It’s really very simple. Anyhow, you’re probably eating right now, so I’ll leave you alone.

    Like

  2. May 22, 2016 5:18 pm

    Hi Pete. I’ve been intermittent with following everyone not just you. I’ve been spending way too much time on my devices and not enough time doing other things so my apologies to you. It has nothing to do with the lack of storie ka about warming up the cabin. :)

    Like

  3. May 23, 2016 5:55 am

    Hey Buddy – remember us sharing message after message as you struggled to determine the cause of your ‘dry spell’ back in 2015? I’d say you discovered the cause and it is no longer a force to affect you; therefore, once you are settled in I’d bet we’ll once again see many more of the ‘curmudgeonly’ postings. I suppose I could say; “Welcome back”..? The damn skeeters are suddenly out in full force; this began the middle of last week which also coincided with a return of the rains. I’m now showing 1.71″ of rain in May and Talkeetna’s ‘average’ is 1.70″ so we’ve made our typical precipitation level with 11 days remaining. Of course our winter was dry and mild with only 60% of normal snowfall (94% of which happened across five days in mid-November 2015) but March was very wet while April was truly a month-long ‘mini-drought’ with just 29% of typical precipitation. NOAA/NWS are forecasting a wetter and warmer than usual June with July and August warm but not as wet as ‘normal’. Still seeing that monster blob of warm water hanging around the Gulf of Alaska with a temp that is 1.5° C warmer than the surrounding ocean waters so I’d bet we’ll see another ‘winter that wasn’t’ across the 2016-2017 ‘winter’…

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    May 24, 2016 3:59 pm

    Pete,
    The writings have always been in your head; just that making up your mind like the old song “should I stay or should I go” has taken precedence over anything else lately & a major decision like this should. I think we’re all still here with you holding our breath til you “get on your high-horse” again!! :)

    Like

  5. Dwight permalink
    May 27, 2016 1:36 am

    Hi Pete… I especially enjoyed this first post from Texas. The cartoons were great too. Welcome Back!

    Like

Leave a comment