Skip to content

A question of balance…. God an Arctic sponge and cancer

August 1, 2017

….I started this posting a number of times but no opening paragraph was equal to the task of telling how I felt when I first read an article in the Anchorage on-line newspaper. To me the article only confirms what I have believed for many decades, that every natural thing we see around us is in its own way an example of the handiwork of God.

The news article stated that an obscure sea sponge that was discovered between 300 and 700 feet below the frigid waters of the Gulf of Alaska “holds unusual molecules that target and kill pancreatic cancer cells in the

ponge1

Photography… NOAA

laboratory.” Mark Hamann of the medical university of South Carolina and Fred Valeriote from the Henry Ford cancer institute of Detroit have stated that the sponge ‘shows promise as a tool to help patients fight pancreatic cancer, a notoriously deadly and hard-to-treat disease’.

I equate this with God’s handiwork because I believe when we look at how precisely our world is placed in relation to our sun, called the ‘Goldilocks zone’, where temperatures are just right to maintain liquid water on its surface and where we find an atmosphere roughly 78 percent nitrogen, 21 percent oxygen, with trace amounts of water, argon, carbon dioxide and other gases. Nowhere else in the solar system can one find an atmosphere loaded with free oxygen, which ultimately proved vital to one of the other unique features of Earth — us.

So when you take the only known perfect planet to support life with the continuing discoveries of life saving ‘natural’ compounds I personally believe that all of this did not happen by chance but by the unseen hand of a higher power. I have always thought that though we have many diseases that can make us ill and even kill us our creator must have also placed their cure somewhere in nature for us to find.

I may indeed be wrong but every day in laboratories around the world biomedical researchers are finding new compounds that fight the many illnesses we deal with throughout our lives. So from the discovery of that seemingly insignificant sponge found in the cold arctic waters to the bark from a yew tree common in our Pacific Northwest to the more than 7000 medicinal compounds found in the plants of the Amazon rain forest I have evidence that to me shows God created a world that is in balance if we only take the time to seek out its treasures.

So the question of balance
I hold as a guide in my walk down life’s road
may be a reflection of our Lords
foundation of life for us all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dwight permalink
    August 1, 2017 2:09 pm

    You nailed it Pete. I am amazed when looking intently at nature. We tend too take much for granted. Nature is too perfect to be a random occurrence. It didn’t just happen spontaneously.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tricia permalink
    August 2, 2017 3:10 am

    Food for thought

    Like

  3. Kris permalink
    August 2, 2017 1:20 pm

    I was so excited when I read this in my email. I dashed upstairs and asked mum (yeah, over 50 and blogging from my mum’s basement….go figure!) if she had seen the article. She said she noticed it was in the paper, but hadn’t read it. So, after looking for it, I did. I cannot BELIEVE mum didn’t read it.
    Pete, it won’t help mum, but to know that our Creator crafted a fix for this horrible disease is beautiful. Now, we need to wait for the government to decide the sponge is ok and the clinical trials can be made available. It will be years still, but what a joy to know an answer is in the world!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jon permalink
    August 2, 2017 8:30 pm

    Ahhh, Pete, The beginning of the title of your posting up to the 3 dots is the title of a 1970 album by the Moody Blues. If you find the album cover, there is a partial picture of our universe; I’m sure it was an artist rendition but has the appearance of a pic from space of earth. Nice intro into your column whether intentional or not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

