Skip to content

…and the band plays on

July 21, 2017

….my eyelids heavy with hours of driving and the quarts of coffee I drank no longer working, I pressed on to my goal now close at hand. I was returning from a band competition in Harrisburg PA a 214 mile round trip driving a rented 24 foot U-Haul loaded to the seams with band instruments and props for my children’s state finals high school band competition. That was 1987 and now 30 years later I was sitting in the ‘warm’ Texas evening air reliving memories of that time so long ago.

Back then in the 80’s when both my son and daughter were in the high school band I believed it was a great outlet for them to invest their time in. Because it was a ‘preforming’ type of marching band it required them to build the character traits of discipline and skill. For those of you who do not know what a high school marching band is it is the band we see at football games where the students are required not only to be proficient in playing their music but must preform intricate maneuvers in time with the music.

Thirty years ago I was a proud father watching them win awards, the state championship and even taking first place in a national competition in Florida. After that Florida competition they had the privilege of preforming inside Disney world but what really mad this old man’s chest swell with pride was watching them on television march down Broad street in the nations bicentennial celebration in Philadelphia.

Now with all those memories starting to fade with old age my son surprises me with tickets to see the DCI competition here in Texas. Drum Core International is an organization of older young people, most out of high school from around the country who compete every year for the best marching band in the nation. My children’s high school band might be compared to a triple A team in baseball while DCI is definitely the big league. So there I sat engulfed by the powerful music and at times overwhelmed by the intricate maneuvers displayed last night.

Though the Texas heat was evident
the bands put on a show
that brought back memories
and a tear or two
to this old man’s eyes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    July 21, 2017 9:28 pm

    What a great surprise from your son! When Trish sees this she will no doubt have a “tear or two” in her eye also. You obviously enjoy time with your kids & this was a heartwarming post, Pete. (I don’t know if my first comment went through so sorry about a double posting if it did.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aunt Tricia permalink
    July 22, 2017 6:22 pm

    I wish I was there to see it with the 2 of you(maybe next year).
    Miss you all!
    Tricia

    Like

Leave a Reply

