Skip to content

An alaskan bunny…. that keeps your feet warm

July 12, 2017

…I was starting to feel the cold seep through my parka as once again the bus I had been taking to work was late. Not uncommon here in Fairbanks in dead winter because like most vehicles, including my diesel pick up, when it gets to 45 or 50 below vehicles tend to not want to start. So I waited knowing from experience sooner or later the bus would arrive.

As I waited the one thing that remained warm was my feet. Unlike in the lower forty eight when it gets cold, or a snow storm is on the way, we do not run to Walmart or the Mall to get boots for us to use in winter, most long time Alaskans go to the Military surplus store. It is there one finds the gold standard for winter footwear in Alaska the ‘bunny boot‘. I see that now you can buy them on line but have never tried that and do not know if it is the same quality as the surplus military boot.

These boots have remained the staple for most in Alaska from the oil field workers on the North Slope to racers in the Iditarod, Yukon Quest and Open North American dog sled race because they work. You can work comfortably for extended periods of time at -65F (-58.3C) with the only drawback being walking around with three and a quarter pounds on each foot.

…and when that bunny boot that served you so well
becomes worn and tattered with age
for some Alaskans
it can still has a purpose.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. flusterfarm permalink
    July 12, 2017 5:42 pm

    I have Ranger boots that are rated for -70° but now that we’ve moved to the South, I probably won’t need them… but it doesn’t hurt to hang on to them. I’ve always wanted to live in Alaska but I truly don’t think I am tough enough to handle that kind of cold. Lived in Minnesota for 25 years and hated every winter :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Del permalink
    July 12, 2017 6:24 pm

    They never worked for me Pete. My go to was Sorels. New a lot of people that used them though. I guess I would use for flower pots too. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jon permalink
    July 12, 2017 9:43 pm

    I never owned a pair of bunny boots; always thought they were too slick on the soles. Like Del, I have Sorels, except mine are the pair I’ve had since early 1975. The ones I wore on the pipeline at -60. Rubber bottoms & leather uppers. All that’s changed over the years has been the liners due to wear. I have to say at first my feet would sometimes get a little frost bitten due to sweaty feet getting the liners damp.

    Then someone suggested wrapping a plastic bag around my wool-socked feet & then putting my feet in the felt liners. Problem solved.

    Had them along on our trip (odyssey) in 2015 more for adding to the memory of walking on the ground they once did, this time in hiking boots. But you never know what weather you run into up there either.

    Creative way to “recycle” those old boots though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

