Skip to content

Heat, Cold & EMTs while in the middle of a lake…. A posting about nothing

June 30, 2017

As I sit and write this posting the summer heat is returning to Texas. I say is returning because the people who have lived here most of their lives consider the 80’s and early 90’s we have had for a while just another nice summer in the Lone Star State. However with the weatherman calling for mid to high 90 degree temps and the heat index in the mid 100’s then even for Texans it is “getting” hot.

Here in Texas even the cows are hot!

When I hear the weather report talk about the ‘heat index‘ it reminds me of my times living in Philadelphia where in the winter they spoke in awed tones about the ‘wind chill‘. Both terms used as mental reinforcement of how terribly hot or cold it was, when in fact it was neither. If it is 20 degrees outside it is still 20 degrees even with the wind blowing. Yes that wind will cut right through the clothing you are wearing and you will definitely feel the cold faster but that does not change the fact that it is still 20 degrees above zero not the 10 degrees below zero that they are saying it is with the wind chill.

Both terms are described by NOAA as “how it feels” and have absolutely nothing to do with the actual temperature. Here In Texas they make a big deal about it when the ‘heat index’ goes above one hundred despite the fact that the ‘real’ temperature may be in the mid 90’s. When it crosses that 100 degree heat index there are a number of alerts to drink more water and check on our elderly neighbors…. and I can’t figure out why we should do anything different than on a normal day of mid 90’s. Entering my second summer here I have to tell you when it is 96 outside any walking no matter how short feels like walking inside a giant oven and definitely requires more water intake.

I also fondly look back to my winters in Alaska when it was regularly 20 or 30 below and I listened to weather reports from where my children lived and they were saying how dangerous it was because the wind chill was 10 below. Cold is cold and if one dresses properly you can actually go outside and work or even play in it even at 20 or 30 below zero.

A frequent sight from my apartment window

Last night another reminder of where I am currently living made its appearance. Around 11pm as I sat and watched Netflix I saw red flashing lights coming in around my window shades. I originally moved here because I did not want to deal with a regular apartment complex with a strong chance of loud late night music and parties, but I never considered where I was actually moving too. Senior living apartments by definition means living with a lot of old people and though I qualified because of my age I never actually considered myself old. Now at least once a month and sometimes more rescue vehicles appear and whisk some of my neighbors away… with some returning and some that do not.

Living for decades in the wilderness one never thought about how old one was because it daily took a bit of physical exertion to live that isolated lifestyle. Now however those regular visits by the EMT’s are almost a monthly reminder of where one’s next stop will be. Though I live practically in the middle of a lake where fishing opportunities abound my mind is often pulled back to this locations reality that I will just have to deal with the heat, hail and tornadoes and sit at my keyboard waiting for the time when an ENT will knock on my door.

Though I sorely miss my wilderness retreat
and whether heat, hail or EMT
comes to my door
I know I will continue to walk life’s road
and just maybe one day get out to that lake
and land a monster fish from the waters around me.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    June 30, 2017 2:03 pm

    Yea Pete you need to find someone with a boat… I see a golf club there too! That can be either relaxing or just plane frustrating but its a place where you can meet people too

    Liked by 1 person

  2. June 30, 2017 2:45 pm

    Most weather stations I read now say ” feels like” rather than try and explain the humidex or wind chill factor.
    The reality of the weather and “feels like” real is akin to your age Pete. You maybe XX years old but like the weather it’s not really about the number but it’s about what it feels like.

    Time to change that line on your rode and hit that lake. You’ll never get a pike, like up there in Alaska, but the thrill of the catch will always be the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Daddy permalink*
    June 30, 2017 4:21 pm

    That lake looks like a monster.

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    July 1, 2017 8:37 am

    Yeah, they talk about the heat index even in Mn. & of course the wind chill in winter. A few years ago Moorhead, Mn. (in nw Mn.) for a few hours one evening had the hottest place on earth at 128 F. according to the weather service. Wonder if you can at least fish from the bridge or if there’s an easy way to get to the lake shore to throw a line & see what happens. I’m going to google this area on a larger scale & see what’s around there. Is this lake far from your residence?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. July 2, 2017 8:55 am

    Hang in there, Pete, summer will broil ya for a few more months and then the cooler and maybe more important less humid air will return!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

