Skip to content

Pete’s Alaskan tales… I had a dream part three

June 20, 2017

Video frame of ‘Pete’s Dream’ on the Tanana river

Chapter three
clients and a boat too big

…this was the second year I was working outdoor shows across the US. Last year I helped man my mentors booth selling his bear and moose hunts and answering questions about Alaska but this year I would have my own booth and I was a bit unnerved by the more than 100,000 people who passed by during the ten days of the Harrisburg Pennsylvania show. Les had told me to just be myself and talk about the fishing trips as if I was sitting in my cabin talking to a friend.

I knew from the previous years show at the Harrisburg Outdoor Show that about 98% of those that stop and inquire about the hunting trips were just window shopping and were never going to book a $1,500 vacation in the woods. However I treated each person who stopped to talk as a potential client and never shortchanged anyone and maybe because of this by the time the show finished I had a deposit filling four of the potential eight trips for the coming summer.

A 20 second look at my both at the 1997 Harrisburg Outdoor Show

The two following shows were in Huston and Denver and I managed to garner another 5 clients filling another two week slots. I was heading home with six of a possible eight weeks filled with paying customers. Now with cash in the bank only one element was lacking… a boat.

I guess it was putting the cart before the horse by booking clients before I had a boat to take them on their once in a lifetime adventure, but getting a boat would be a huge investment and it was a good feeling that I had the money now to afford a nice boat. In these first few years in Alaska I have been on many different boats when fishing but for the purpose of the trips I planed I had a specific type in mind, an aluminum inboard jet boat, and after a day of internet research I was off to the factory to test drive one.

After a number of hours running the ‘Snake river’ in Hells Canyon I knew I had found the boat I would use on my Yukon river fishing trips. It was responsive and powerful enough to handle the strong Yukon river current but was also comfortable enough for my clients to travel in any weather condition in comfort. So after taking delivery I was set for my five day road trip hauling my boat to its new home in Alaska.

Now all that remained was breaking the boat in
during spring hunting season
and I would be ready to provide my clients
with the adventure of a lifetime.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    June 21, 2017 8:16 am

    Nice Pete… Keep it up!!!

    Like

  2. June 28, 2017 12:59 pm

    Quite the series, Pete!

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    July 1, 2017 8:17 am

    Proves one thing, you weren’t afraid to take chances, seeing the big picture & the reward at the end thanks to step by step careful planning by raising the money first to buy the boat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

