Skip to content

Pete’s Alaskan tales… I have a dream

June 12, 2017

…no disrespect intended with my use of the title of Dr Martin Luther King’s 1963 civil rights speech, because like almost everyone of us we hold deep inside of ourselves thoughts and dreams of what we would like our lives to be and I am no different. Now one would think someone like myself being able to live for decades in a truly open and free land like Alaska that would be enough, and it was for the latter part of my life in Alaska. However when I first arrived and sought out a way to be financially independent in my life there it was almost always with myself looking over my shoulder at my dreams.

Chapter one
The birth of a dream

….as autumn’s cold mist rolled off the nearby lake and evening turned into nite the camp fire was beginning to smolder as I sat poking the embers, my mind far away wondering what to do next with my life. I had been here in camp for nearly three weeks from setting it up for the first clients to today getting ready to close it down for the season. I had worked as an assistant hunting guide each spring and fall for two years now and had one more to go before I could apply to get my own Hunting guides license, but I did not feel that this is what I was meant to do here in Alaska.

Because of the skill of the master guide Les Cobb I experienced and learned many things in these past two years. From our average twenty spring black bear hunts to our fall moose hunts I now knew much about tracking, skinning and butchering our kills, but as I sat here alone by the dying fire I came to the realization this is not how I would make my way in Alaska.

During my ‘off season’, from the middle of June till the end of August, I had traveled around the state looking for outlets for my son’s Alaskan video series that he shot in 1995. During these first two years of travels I ended up garnering outlets ranging from Anchorage to Prudhoe Bay but knew sales also was not for me. However during those trips around the state I fished the waters from the Prince William Sound in Valdez and the many streams and rivers off the Richardson and Dalton highway to the feeder streams along the Yukon river and with that exposure the seed of a possible future for me in Alaska was planted.

So as the final embers of the camp fire now winked out I thought about those good times I encountered when I stopped and fished while out hawking the DVD series and I remembered the hundreds of times I went fishing when I lived in Pennsylvania and slowly a realization bubbled to the surface… Why couldn’t I figure some way to combine my passion for fishing with a way to make a living here in my new home? I had no idea of what was involved from getting a business license to the fishing guides license or more importantly what a guided fishing trip offered and where to run those trips, but I was now determined to find out.

As the now dead fire
allowed the full chill of the cold moist air to sink into my body
I had no idea of how to put this dream into motion,
but I was now sure
what I wanted to do for the rest of my life in Alaska
and that was to
make my lifelong dream a reality

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2017 11:02 pm

    Glad, to hear, that your goals are finally, materializing, it seemed that you’d found the purpose of why you’re, living in Alaska, away from the civilized world…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. June 13, 2017 3:16 pm

    You definitely took ‘the road less traveled’, Pete, and you are almost assuredly a better man for having done so!

    Like

Leave a Reply

