Skip to content

A different kind of baseball game….

May 5, 2017

…..unlike what I usually do every day here in Texas I went to a T-ball game on Wednesday. We will not even speak about the fact that at 11am I am usually still dragging my knuckles across the floor and instead today I am surrounded by children, but because today was my grandson’s first T-ball game I wanted to be there. Normally a child’s first introduction to baseball via the T-ball route is of merit but for this group of children, I feel, it was truly remarkable.

This was a game for the children of the various Frisco Texas schools that are in one way or the other physically or emotionally challenged. When I first learned about it I could not understand how children like my grandson would be able to focus long enough to play the game and until I was there and saw how the kids reacted to the game, was a bit apprehensive. But as you look at the pictures you will understand that not only they indeed had a great time, but it brought a tear to this old mans eyes.

From the way the kids focused one the ball when they were at bat

To the smile when they were running the base’s

Or how intent they were to catch the ball after it was hit

and of course the end of the game high-5

Looking at these photographs
will hardly convey
the good time these kids had
or the happiness
I felt
in my heart

 

*all photographs by Anthony  ieba.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2017 1:58 pm

    Truly a special moment for everyone. :D Thanks for sharing Pete

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Gina permalink
    May 5, 2017 3:16 pm

    Wonderful !!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jon permalink
    May 5, 2017 10:47 pm

    Great post, Pete! This was one day for the kids. Cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

