Skip to content

The road home….

March 31, 2017

Photography by Anthony

I woke up and I was back in my cabin in Alaska. I had the same foggy cloud surrounding my brain as always but through the mist of fog I remember a dream of living in an apartment in Little Elm, Texas. A smile crept across my face as I realized that there couldn’t be a town called Little Elm… it sounded to much like something from an old time western movie.

As I stood and dressed the familiar sound of a big rig and its jake breaks echoed from the distant hills and even though I was just waking up thinking it must be morning as I looked out my tiny window from the loft the earth and trees outside were bathed in the intense eerie green glow of the Northern Lights. Something definitely was wrong because as I went down the stairs from the loft my feet never touched the steps, and my downstairs was an exact copy of the apartment I just dreamed about in Texas.

For some reason this deja vu moment didn’t bother me, and that bothered me! But in the next instant as I held my morning coffee, that I never made, and looked out the window at the dancing Aurora I understood……..

..…the past days of angst
over the hail storm damage and flooded apartment
combined with way too few hours of sleep
had my brain searching
for a way to sooth my soul
so as I slept on this April fools day
my benevolent brain had
brought me home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    March 31, 2017 6:03 pm

    We had the earliest tornado in Mn. history earlier this month on Mar. 6th. one south of the Twin Cities & 2 others about 50 -60 miles to the north.
    Pete, just proves one more time you can take the man out of Alaska but you can’t take Alaska out of the man. Looking at you recent pics on your site always brings it back to me as well as reading the News Miner every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. March 31, 2017 8:30 pm

    Maybe, it’s the bad weather in your area, that’s made you miss your former ways of living, and, you missed your old life, but, that moment soon passed, and you’re, back with reality…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tricia permalink
    April 2, 2017 12:50 am

    Hhhhhhhmmmmmm.

    Like

  4. April 4, 2017 11:58 pm

    I like this, sometimes we all need to go home 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

