Skip to content

Just luck or the hand of God ?

March 27, 2017

For years before I moved to Alaska permanently I drove four round trips to my old home in Pennsylvania, and that by itself is very close to 20,000 miles. During most of those trips I only slept for four hours a day, tempting fate that I would not fall asleep at the wheel. Also on numerous occasions I remember driving in Canada in fog so thick I had to have my head out of the window and guided myself by looking at the center-line in the roadway. I am saying this because my survival makes one wonder if at times some higher power wasn’t indeed looking out for my welfare.

I bring this up because last night this higher power was once again at work and a walk around the apartment complex this morning proved it. In Alaska I was concerned about earthquakes a 7.9 that I was in, bears around my cabin and forest fires like the one that came within half a mile of the homestead. But after 14 years living in my wilderness home they became second nature. Now In Texas during the spring I have to be aware of tornadoes and hail storms one of which blew through here last night.

Your asking what does this have to do with the ‘hand of God’, well last night the people of Denton country were spared not living through a tornado, but we did get hit with a hail storm. This morning emergency work crews are here starting to repair roofs for leaks, apartment and clubhouse windows shattered as the many cars and trucks with broken windows and hundred of dents sit as proof that a higher power does exist.

Why would one car have its windows destroyed and another alongside remain untouched? Why would your neighbors apartment window be broken and yours not? Just a matter of luck? In no way do I understand why these things happen to some but not to others but if you fall back on saying they are just lucky than I truly feel sorry for you. I believe there is almost always a purpose for what happens to us even though we may never understand why, and I think that purpose is directed by a higher power.

Whether you believe in God or not
I think
it may not truly matter
because
he believes in you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dwight permalink
    March 27, 2017 3:51 pm

    Hi Pete…
    I thought that they mentioned your area on ABC News tonight.
    Glad that you escaped any serious damage! Got to agree with you, the Lord moves in mysterious ways sometimes! If you have perceptive eyes, you can sometimes see his work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jon permalink
    March 27, 2017 5:44 pm

    Same question as a tornado leaving one house unscathed while the one next door is completely wiped out.
    In spite of missing a tornado, your pickup took quite a beating from the pics. These kind of storm can certainly do their damage. Good luck with the repairs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. March 27, 2017 8:40 pm

    Or, maybe, your life was spared, simply because, your time here, is not yet up???

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

