Skip to content

Next time you think it is cold… watch this.

March 8, 2017

Most people who live in what Alaskan’s call the lower 48,

(any state other than Alaska),

think it gets cold during their winter

when the temperature has a minus 20 degree wind chill

stop and click on the photograph

and play the news report from the Iditarod sled dog race.

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    March 8, 2017 11:04 am

    Was watching a vid from the race and one musher said his thermometer he had on his sled was -60……. Remember those days too in Eureka…… Wish I had a go pro back then too… Boy I would have some get videos…. Don’t you miss sit Pete???? lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • March 9, 2017 10:01 am

      No…. when it got to -24 or colder had to lug the generator out to plug in the truck before starting it. Getting a bit too old to lug that genny even though it was a lite 2k Honda.

      Like

  2. Kris permalink
    March 8, 2017 4:14 pm

    And I am whining cuz our wind chill is at 14 above or so here in North Kenai. PS-Go Aily!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • March 9, 2017 10:03 am

      Perfect Kris… I was/am still looking in to moving down in that area because of the warmer temp’s, but am apprehensive because of the summer tourist season.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kris permalink
        March 10, 2017 11:26 am

        You mean from May to September???? Shudder!!!!!! I was laughing a couple of weeks ago. I needed to cross the street and opted to drive from where I was staying to the bank I needed to get to. In the summer, it is terrifying due to traffic and tourists. This winter? There is a LOT of snow and ice.

        Like

  3. March 9, 2017 3:04 am

    Until you experience really cold weather, like living in ANTARCTICA, you really can’t say that you know what cold is, because you’d never fully, experience cold to that extent…

    Liked by 1 person

    • March 9, 2017 10:06 am

      Your absolutely right Taurusingemini… but did spend some time in Prudhoe bay when it was in the -60’s with gale force winds, not the happiest of times I have had in Alaska.

      Like

  4. March 10, 2017 9:53 am

    You are right again taurusingemini. Life experiences no matter whether bad or good are part of our life and will no doubt influence us in the future.

    Like

  5. Jon permalink
    March 11, 2017 7:16 am

    A little late to comment, has something to do with the state high school hockey tournament.
    I, too have experienced -60 & probably beyond while I worked on the Alaska Pipeline. Never forgot the night I frost bit my nose in a very few minutes fueling a crane outside of the Dietrich construction camp. Nov. or Dec. ’75. Stupid me, had my face mask rolled up on my forehead. Stung for a few years after that!

    Also never forget getting a car started after working on it outside for 3 days at -50 off Badger Rd. in North Pole. Saving grace was a kerosene construction heater, not to mention a garage fire at my apartment in Fairbanks started when bench testing the starter & a spark jumped into a pan of gasoline.

    Feb. 3, 1996 a new state record low for Mn. was set at Tower at -60.

    Like

  6. March 22, 2017 8:23 am

    Hi Pete,

    Just came across your blog following your visit to mine. This talk about the Lower 48 whining about “cold” reminded me of my favorite AK story. Was a teenager at Eilson AFB when the temps hit -32F. School closed, calling it too cold for us to walk to school. I would guess at least half us students and teachers saw each other on the ski slopes that day!

    Was there on Good Friday 1964. Wasn’t my fault, honest!

    I miss Alaska. Good news is my son just moved up there so now my XYL is finally eager to visit and we should be able to get up there to Wasilla at least once a year.

    Completely deaf, so I’ve been focusing on digital modes as well ever since I got my ticket around 1995. Works pretty good, but really want to get some CW proficiency.

    Thanks for sharing your Alaskan tales!

    73 de KC7JSD

    Bill

    Like

Leave a Reply

