Skip to content

Who do you trust for the truth?

February 25, 2017

…after falling asleep in my first class of the day and getting detention I was determined to stay awake in my next class social studies. My eyelids were loosing the battle to stay open as Mr Barnes was droning on about what our nation went though during the 1929-1939 great depression. What brought me awake was when he said a 500 word term paper would be used for 25% of our mid-term grade and it was due in two weeks. No problem I thought I would do like I always did and just copy some stuff from old history books add a little of my own observations and it was a lock.

Today I am sure for our school children it is even easier to complete term papers with little or no research or study bot2because of the computer. One needs only to type in the subject and we have at our fingertips thousands of articles on every subject known to man. Then its a simple task to just find some that look noteworthy and copy and paste and your done. But unlike those days in the 50’s and 60’s when I had to go to the library and copy by hand the information from the limited number of books on the subject today’s wealth of articles and books makes finding the truth about something an almost insurmountable task.

If you were to type in ‘global warming’ like I did into Google’s search engine I got 71,800,000 possible articles on the subject. And though Google has been accused of slanting its searches you would still find millions of articles that were either in support of or in opposition to the reality of global warming. So how does one decide which one is the truth and which one is ‘fake’? A large number of the children of today are for the most part not very discerning and tend to take the easy way out when faced with projects they do not want to do, so it is these still impressionable minds that suffer because there is indeed no one totally reliable source for information.

I have done searches on subjects I knew nothing about like when I decided last year to raise tomato plants. When I did an internet search I was faced with many articles saying this or that would produce the best plants but which one was the definitive answer? For me it was trial and error and my results proved I followed the wrong article. No big deal except when you consider our children being exposed to incorrect ideas or “facts” you realize the seeds of the way they understand life has been planted, and they may grow up looking at the world and its leaders in the wrong frame of mind.

So the next time you do an online search
consider for a moment
that whomever wrote the article
may want you to perceive the world
as they see it
not
as it really is.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kris permalink
    February 26, 2017 1:17 am

    Also in the 70’s, 80’s, and a portion of the 90’s. There is a word for today. Aliteracy. Scary stuff. And finding out the truth? If you don’t want to read and find it out, hey….you can always believe what you find in the clickbait stories on FB!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. February 26, 2017 6:02 am

    Hey Pete – in our generation there was a lot of concern that too many people took what they saw on TV as gospel; today we can substitute ‘on-line’ for ‘TV’! But back in our day the news on TV was far more professional and journalistically solid; in addition there were only four sources (ABC, CBS, NBC and PBS). But we also had an advantage in that our schools were still teaching critical thinking; from what I can see sometime not long after I graduated college in 1977 our ‘centers of higher education’ decided a ‘dumbed down’ population is easier to manipulate and hence ceased such teachings…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. March 1, 2017 8:07 pm

    Pete, I am also a droning high school History teacher. Zzzzzz. This trimester I am teaching American Government, Middle East Conflict, The Great Depression, and Journalism.

    Today, I taught the students Roe vs. Wade and will discuss the role it played in American Society. We are obviously looking at the pro-life pro-choice debate and are discussing how to debate, but to also recognized a person who argues from experience or personal pain. The students will also have to look at the “zone of privacy” established by the Supreme Court in the decision for Roe and explain how their zone of privacy is being protected or violated today. I try to word my questions to get students to pull from a variety of resources and then discuss their opinion on the subject as a lawyer would argue a case. This keeps it more interesting as the students become invested in their answers. Plus, the questions cause them to think about it versus repeating (copying and pasting) their answers.

    I hope this gives you hope out there that at least one history teacher that you know now is shaking things up a bit. Your two comments above are also correct; clickbait is the new “king” on YouTube and I won’t use it on my accounts. So, I will fade away to obscurity. Forever Alaskan is also correct about the dumbing down of education. I could go on for hours about the indoctrination within the system and not the education within it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

