Skip to content

Just a bad dream…?

February 6, 2017

mky9The shock of one minute being in deep sleep dreaming and the next sitting upright in bed sent my heart racing. I sat there in the inky darkness with my eyes open not seeing anything but fully aware that the ‘buzzing’ in my chest was my designation for the Afib that plagued me. As I reached over for my nitro tablets the buzzing and tightening in my chest quelled and I held off taking any. In a few minutes I was calm again and able to remember bits an pieces of the dream. In my mind I saw myself driving across this nation like I had done so many times before, only this time at each bend in the road I was confronted with scenes that made my blood run cold like….

living in a land where free speech was met with violence
or
Living in a land where you could go to jail
because you did not want to provide a service for someone
because their lifestyle was anathema to your religion
or
living in a land where you went to jail
if you believed in corporal punishment for your children
or
Living in a land where you were labeled a racist
if you wanted to enforce already established laws concerning immigration
or
Living in a land where violent demonstrations and destruction of the property
was not punished by the local police.
or
Living in a land where teachers not parents taught our children about sex
or
living in a land where being politically correct was paramount
over telling someone the truth
or
living in a land where your sexual identity was determined
by how you felt not based on the organs
you were borne with
or
living in a land where there were no more borders
or
living in a land where pride in your nation
was considered selfish and wrong

…here I thought it was a horrible nightmare
but I soon realized it was just me ‘blanking’ out
while listening to the news on the radio.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    February 6, 2017 11:40 am

    Not a bad dream at all but reality in today’s United States. This list should be fodder for any politician who truly cares about this country instead of caving to political correctness or worse when considering a bill or policy thinking what’s in this for me instead of is this good or bad for this country.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. February 6, 2017 1:05 pm

    I wish it was all just a bad dream, instead of a living nightmare. Hopefully and Prayerfully, things will start turning around soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tricia permalink
    February 6, 2017 9:03 pm

    Hhhhmmmmmm

    Like

  4. February 7, 2017 9:57 am

    A piece reminiscent of some “Twilight Zone” segments; well done, Pete!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • February 8, 2017 9:44 am

      Twilight zone for sure but maybe even ‘outer limits’ considering how much worse it could have been.

      Like

Leave a Reply

