Skip to content

A ‘little’ cooler than normal ?

January 19, 2017

fairbanks-cold2

Next time we in the lower 48 think it is cold

we should remember

that some of the cities in the United States

get a whole lot colder.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2017 11:16 am

    Just sent an email on the cold we’re experiencing this Thursday morning and you were copied. All my electronic sensors gave up transmitting between -33.4° F and -39.7° F early this morning but my hand held IR pyrometer showed the surface temp of the bare snow board on the back porch to be around -50° F! While I don’t think that’s accurate I know it is below -40° F and it is cold! By far and away the coldest air temps I’ve experienced!! Yet I’m surprised I can be comfortable in my layered outdoor clothing but then I’ve been fine tuning my apparel for real cold for a number of winters now…

    Like

  2. January 19, 2017 9:12 pm

    Yes it is always good to keep things in perspective. When our friends in the UK complain about an inch of snow I usually remind them that here in Canada we would love just an inch of snow!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dwight permalink
    January 20, 2017 1:25 am

    Should be about right temperature for you in Texas now. Enjoy those frosty mornings. Best Regards!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jon permalink
    January 21, 2017 4:57 am

    Last week went down to -42 in Cotton, Mn. which is in N.E. Mn. not far from where I grew up.Today & the next several going to be upper 30s to low 40s with rain, drizzle & fog before the cold from Alaska breaks off & starts its trek down here in about 10 days. Lots of freezing rain lately, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

