Skip to content

A different Thanksgiving….

November 23, 2016
dscf1050

A thanksgiving to remember because most of my family are gone

For the most part my Thanksgiving for the past 14 years while living in my cabin was different. Now I say different because there were some years when I stayed alone in my cabin and enjoyed (?) some precooked turkey warmed on the stove that heated my cabin. Other Thanksgivings nearby neighbors dropped by with ‘real’ turkey and fixings and still others where I ventured out to enjoy that real turkey with those neighbors.

img_0762

An Alaskan Thanksgiving with family that will be missed

This year a complete change awaits me because, except for my daughter who will not arrive until Christmas, I will be spending it with my son, his family and their friends. I guess I won’t have to don a suit and tie but I am sure my old carhartt coveralls would be a tad out of place. Now I am one who shuns away from gatherings with a large number of people, (more than two), but this will be, I believe, the first Thanksgiving that I will share with my grandchildren and I am looking forward to it.

So as I ready myself for the Holiday feast

I wish you all a

Happy Thanksgiving

p-saw-bird

…and if you need someone to carve your turkey just give me a call because I still have my chainsaw!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2016 9:17 am

    loved the ‘old time’ images, Pete! here’s wishing you and yours a truly memorable Thanksgiving with all the family!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. November 23, 2016 10:06 am

    Happy Gobbler Day however you spend it Peter – save me one of the drumsticks

    Like

  3. Del permalink
    November 23, 2016 11:26 am

    Happy Thanksgiving Pete……..

    Like

  4. Dwightster permalink
    November 23, 2016 1:30 pm

    One big advantage to living close to your relatives. Happy Thanksgiving Pete!

    Like

  5. Tricia permalink
    November 24, 2016 1:10 am

    Happy Thanksgiving Dad.

    Like

  6. November 24, 2016 6:05 am

    Happy Thanksgiving Pete

    Like

  7. Kris permalink
    November 24, 2016 1:48 pm

    Your title intrigued me. Thanksgiving has morphed into so many different shapes. As a teen we celebrated with friends. As an adult, I usually cook a larger than usual basic turkey dinner with some trimmings. This year? No snacks made for lunch while we wait for dinner, no scents of cinnamon or roasting fowl, and I am listening to a dog show instead of Christmas music and the sound of the dishwasher. Crazy how different it is this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jon permalink
    November 24, 2016 2:32 pm

    For the second year in a row, Margie & I ate out at a local restaurant. This year was a buffet at a place 4 miles away. Pleasant atmosphere & great food. Same place had a major fire 5 years ago & rebuilt. Noticed a $5,000 donation by the restaurant to the local fire dept. back then in appreciation for the efforts.
    Think we’ll be back next year.
    Wishing all of you a safe & Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. December 10, 2016 7:05 am

    haha that chainsaw is so funny! Hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving.

    Like

Leave a Reply

