Skip to content

A scorched cooking pot… and blogs I follow

November 2, 2016

I had been online for maybe an hour and was immersed in a posting about ‘rough drafts’ when the aroma of someone BBQing wafted through the air. I had been a tad hungry for a while now but put off getting up and make dscf3053something for lunch because the blog postings I had been reading held my attention. However as I ended the posting and the intensity of the smell increased I suddenly remembered that before I sat down I had put on a pot of water with eggs in it to boil and……

Like all good writers, not saying that I am close to even being called a writer, I spend a portion of each day reading. I try and absorb everything from books of fiction and nonfiction to a myriad of historical books dealing with our nations beginning. The day is sprinkled with a few hours on line perusing a number of news outlets and finally with my beloved writers on WordPress and Tremr. I have always felt a respect for those who garner no financial gain from their writing but simply write for the pleasure and consideration of others and try and stay current with what your thoughts are.

The posting about rough drafts hit home and I was so immersed with the posting and the good writing contained therein I now have a burnt and probably unusable soup pot. But what value do we put on the different pleasures we daily seek? Some would pay good money for a book by their favorite author just like others would pay highly for a fine dinner so the maybe having to replace the pot is not a very steep price to pay for the hour of pleasure I garnered from reading some of your thoughts.

One hour of internet time…… $.03

One destroyed cooking pot…….. $10

One hour of intellectual pleasure

Priceless

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tricia permalink
    November 2, 2016 10:45 pm

    Nice HooDoo / HAARP pic below.
    :)

    Like

  2. November 3, 2016 5:49 am

    Love the ‘reasoning’ behind the destruction of the eggs and pot! That’s really taking the optimistic perspective!!

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    November 6, 2016 9:23 am

    Maybe you can use those hard-boiled eggs to roll back and forth under your feet to massage them after a day of walking.(tongue in cheek here.) Sort of like the tennis ball chiropractors recommend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

