Skip to content

Mea culpa

October 18, 2016

One of the main things that originally endeared me to the people of remote Alaska was there sense of openness in speaking there mind, and I knew I had found kindred souls with their at times brutal, conversation. Over the years I had gotten in trouble for wlkartdoing the same thing, but at that time I was living on the East coast and what you see is not always what you got when dealing with the people that lived there.

This blog when it started out many years ago was originally intended for my family because I had no other means of staying in contact with them. It contained, for the most part, personal information to let them know what I was doing between those infrequent phone calls on my trip to town. I did not fully understand, when I first started writing this blog, that my words were in essence out there for the world to see. So my at times blunt comments on matters other than my life soon started to garner a readership.

Now understanding that indeed ‘the world could be reading’ what I have written, I may have at times self censored my thoughts when transposed into the words you read. However there are at times my old ‘shoot from the hip’ from my brain to the computer screen comments that do squeak through uncensored, and I have found over the years that some of these infrequently offended my readers.

My last posting, ‘Sex and the Presidential elections’, is an example of that, and I apologize that it did offend some of you. I can validate my reasons for writing what I did, and I personally feel it is based on solid observation, but for the purpose of this posting I am sorry if it offended anyone.

Its just me following
where my ‘big brain’ directs me to go
forgetting
to engage my censorship filter
and
just writing what I feel.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2016 8:42 am

    No issues with me, Pete…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tcriggs permalink
    October 18, 2016 9:07 am

    That is exactly how I started blogging! lol. It was intended to be for family. I remember getting my first random follower and asking my husband who the heck they were and how did they find my page. (this was pre-facebook, btw) I was mortified that EVERYONE could see my page and quickly changed the settings. But later, I settled into the blogging life and enjoyed an extended pen pal network where we could trade stories, news, and compare and contrast what each country was telling its own about current events.

    Anyway… I developed a philosophy around blogging, in that it is like any public discussion, at a restaurant, on a plane, in a park… and the same manners and etiquette apply… on the part of the speakers AND the eavesdroppers. Other than that… if I am in a heated discussion with a friend about something that happened to me… the person at the table next to me had better say “excuse me” before interrupting… and be ready for a rebuff if they are being presumptuous. ;-)

    Like

  3. October 18, 2016 9:44 am

    No issues with me Pete. If anything politics offers a great opportunity for discussion and debate that does not include the weather.

    Like

  4. john permalink
    October 18, 2016 11:29 am

    Say what you think,,,if some one is offended, tough toenails, as Mom used to say–If we followed the rule of PC and we all would be brain dead.
    If we had PC back in the beginning we would still be English subjects.
    not sorry for what I wrote, some folks “offense” offends me
    best john w8wej

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jon permalink
    October 18, 2016 12:31 pm

    Hi, just back from our Philippines vacation & catching up. Pete, I read your postings back from Oct. 6th & in my opinion you have nothing to apologize for regarding your last posting, not only as your right (still) under our 1st amendment, but because I think it’s the truth what the Clinton campaign is doing.
    I think they have a lot of gall & points out the sheer arrogance & disdain for the American public what they are doing. I think all of us here are paying attention & are well familiar with Billy boy’s treatment of women & of Hillary’s enabling of everything that happened including going after the women he abused. But I think we all know their marriage is not one of love but of political power & financial gain, And then she claims to be a champion of women’s rights while gladly taking money from countries in the world known for their horrible abuse of women & women’s rights if they have any there. Give me a break.
    Off topic, but the latest findings of these emails.
    While I have a few issues with how Trump has handled this campaign (which can in no small part be blamed on his advisors) compared to the damage she has done to this country these accusations about Trump’s behavior, which a lot of them are being proven to be unsubstantiated, are small potatoes in comparison. He needs to get back on point with the economy, our security & the email issue & her record & forget this personal stuff. Pete alluded to the last item in one of his recent posts.
    If some of you have issues with this, remember I am writing this while trying to catch up on a 13 hour time difference! LOL!

    Like

  6. Terry permalink
    October 18, 2016 12:57 pm

    I always look out for your blogs – being “offended” by someone’s blog comments means one should just keep scrolling. It’s their blog entry – why would one read it unless for a bit of opinion and food for thought and conversation? Keep it up. And, by the way, the two party options this year are depressing ;-)

    Like

  7. Kris permalink
    October 18, 2016 10:34 pm

    Smiling. I have 4 of the things and not too many followers on most of them! Most of my annoying comments are on a blog practically no one follows! I don’t mind. I consider it my very public unknown soapbox!

    Like

  8. October 19, 2016 10:41 am

    Jesus Christ of Nazareth did not apologize for offending the Pharisees when Healing people on the Sabbath, nor did he apologize to the vendors in Solomons’ Temple when he ripped through there like a raging Bull. So, if they take ‘offense’ they can either defend peacefully their side by actually debating a topic, or “change the channel”. 73

    Like

  9. Del permalink
    October 20, 2016 11:37 am

    Yep Pete… Noe problem here…. Keep it up!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

