Skip to content

Armageddon and the Presidential election

October 12, 2016

When I awoke and pulled the cover down off my face, the overnight chill was like putting ones head inside a freezer. Once again I had miscalculated how cold it would get overnight and failed to turn the stove on before going to sleep. I dressed quickly climbed homer_simpson_end_is_neardown from my loft and after I lit the stove and waited for the warmth to come I pondered the simple fact that living in the wilderness meant one had to think ahead and that required my big brain to think rationally, but obviously once again it failed me.

I am going to continue with my ‘big brain’ metaphor from the previous post because with now only days left before the Presidential election maybe it is time to actually ruminate about our choice and not let our big brains have us vote just on impulse and sound bites. That first paragraph did in reality happen not once but many times proving big brains are prone to mistakes when we do not take the time to think things through.

I fully understand that absolutely no one should listen to what I am saying because I am truly a non-entity. I have no weighty collage degree, no years of experience in politics, finance or international relations I am truly no one of any import. I am however, much like everyone else, Mr average Joe who wants the best for my family and my country. I have no political affiliations and for the majority of my lifetime voted only on the issues and never the propaganda that the candidates espoused.

I do however have one thing that forces me to see the reality of this upcoming election and that is the personal experience of 70 years of life in America. That decades long experience has taken me through many changes in our nations direction and philosophy. I have lived in a time when respect for others was a paramount trait and when one was proud to be an American. My lifetime journey had me witness to a time when people everywhere felt truly blessed to be living in a land directed by the constitution and rule of law.

Today however I see this great nation being dismantled brick by brick into some form of global mediocrity. Where we must not only accept others way of life but we must support it, even if it not only offends us but at times is against the tenants of our faith. We are living in a world today where we have observed that if something happens to harm one of us others, even strangers, are expected to react violently and the ‘rule of law’ be dammed.

We are now living in a land where it is alright to rob and destroy other peoples property but it is wrong to voice disdain at what they are doing and you are labeled a racist. If one says that they believe
it is wrong to oppose the immigration laws on the books they are a bigot, and if you do not want to alter the constitution that made this nation great your considered a radical looking to oppress other peoples choices.

So I say to you this election
may or may not be our nations Armageddon
but if you want it to continue on the present path
listen to the media and the sound bites and
let you big brain tell you who to vote for
because that candidate has said
it will be 4 more years heading in the same direction
****
but if you want to try and reverse its present path
then vote for someone
who makes those in Washington tremble
because he is beholding to no one in power
except
‘we the people’.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2016 8:15 am

    A tacit quantum of support for Trump, Pete? I’m there with ya; while I vote for him with a large dose of disdain I also do so because the other potential choice is a proven criminal, a liar, an unscrupulous waste of human flesh and has no real love for this country despite what it has given her.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Scott permalink
    October 12, 2016 8:19 am

    The Good Book says that when the end times draw near, what is right will be viewed as wrong, and what is wrong will be viewed as right. I think we can all agree, we are there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Del permalink
    October 13, 2016 8:00 am

    Yea Pete what Forever Alaskan said! An election to never forget! OR Forget it all together.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. December 6, 2016 10:01 pm

    I understand. Not a Trump fan, but I truly understand. I’m not bitter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

