Skip to content

October surprise…. the good, the bad and the ugly

October 2, 2016

The good….
Just a quick update about life here in Texas. Though the weather has begun to ‘cool’ down and some of my neighbors have started to put on more cloths for their morning and evening walks, I believe that ‘cool’ is a relative term. I guess if you lived here all your octoberbloglife and are more accustomed to 100 degree temperatures than 70 it is definitely cooler, but I do remember back home when it reached 70 I had a fan on and I was sweating. I have however have actually begun to enjoy this ‘cooler’ weather and am happy to be able to open my windows and shut down the air conditioner. So it is definitely ‘good’ when I can enjoy the nicer weather and save money at the same time.

The bad….
Even living here in civilization at times it feels like I am back in my cabin in Alaska because last week I lost my internet connection. Some of you may have noticed I have not made a posting lately and I want you to know I am working on it, but I am also considering shutting down the blog and foregoing an internet connection because of the cost. Until I decide what path to follow I will continue to attempt to upload sporadic postings at the apartments office center.

The ugly….
The campaign for President continues, but not based on real issues but personal attacks. I could never understand why politicians resort to personal attacks rather than deal with the issues effecting the lives of ‘we the people’. I think I would go out of my way to vote for a politician who runs on issues alone and ignores any and all personal attacks. Someone who sets themselves above the mud-slinging is definitely worth my vote.

So until
I can connect with the world again
I will continue to enjoy
a cooler Texas
and wonder
what will become of our nation
when those campaigning for President
are more concerned with personal issues
than
making a our country better for
‘we the people’

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    October 2, 2016 7:46 am

    I’m sure you could use the internet for free at your local library. You might have o get a library card :)

    Like

  2. October 2, 2016 8:09 am

    Hey Pete – I’ll echo Gina’s comment; there are a myriad of places which offer either hard-wired broadband or fairly fast WiFi for free. Along with the aforementioned public libraries many coffee shops, fast food joints and similar have reasonably speedy WiFi connectivity. Granted; this is not as convenient as working from your home but you could get your material created, checked and ready for transmission at your place and then just drive to the location of your choice and send it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

