Skip to content

The lessor of two evils… Clinton or Trump?

September 19, 2016

When you are eighteen, broke and homeless New York city in 1964 was not a place you wanted to be but there I was. I had run away from home a month earlier and was now running out of money and facing life on the streets of matrix-red-blue-pillan uncaring city. I was standing at its very heart, times square, feeling sorry for myself because I didn’t know what to do when I noticed a building at the very center of the square… an armed forces recruiting station. I stood there for what seemed like hours trying to decide whether I should return home or go over and open the door of a new life, but nether choice looked good.

Shortly the people of this nation will face the decision on who will be our next President, and once again just like when I was in New York you too will be faced with two, for the most part, unsatisfying choices. Yes I know there are also two other people running for the position but in this election they have no chance of being elected and a vote for either of them would be throwing your vote away.

In that choice I was looking at back in ’64’ I chose a total unknown, the military, over returning home to what I thought at the time was just more of what prompted me to leave in the first place. The decision to join the Army indeed changed my life, but to this day I still wonder what my life would have become if I had chosen to return home. Our life is full of decisions on a daily basis and for the most part we never give these choices a second thought because they do not have a major impact on our future, but we and I are now faced with a decision that will without a doubt not only effect our lives but the lives of future generations.

You can not sit this one out dear reader because it is a matter of life and death for a once proud nation. To not vote would allow those with the loudest voices to control your life because you can be assured they will be voting! If you are not firmly supporting one candidate or the other the choice between them I know looks bleak, but to allow someone to become President simply because they arouse a larger number of fanatics than the other is just throwing you vote away.

One candidate espouses a continuation and even an intensity of the same policies we have now, while the other wants to change those policies and tighten laws already on the books. One is a politician with years of experience learning how to make backdoor deals with other politicians to get things done while the other has no political experience and owes no allegiance to anyone but ‘we the people’.

Two choices
two different people
a long time ago I chose the unknown
is it time to do so again?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    September 19, 2016 3:52 pm

    Pete,
    You’ve spelled this one out better than most of these so-called pundits (or maybe punshits?)

    Like

  2. September 20, 2016 7:11 am

    Well put, my Friend! For decades I voted Libertarian because that was not only more closely allied with my feelings and perspectives but it was also a ‘protest vote’ against what I felt were very poor choices regarding the main stream candidates (I did vote for Reagan). By doing so I really did waste my vote and must accept I helped this once great country become the mess it is now. But it is a measure of just how onerous the current choices are that I’ll still have to hold my nose when I sit down in Talkeetna Elementary and fill out my ballot in a bit more than seven weeks…

    Like

  3. September 21, 2016 10:54 am

    I always vote! And I always read about our “democracy”. I’m putting that in quotes because I don’t think we have one anymore. It’s so corrupt. And yes I’m sadly cynical.

    Like

  4. September 22, 2016 10:29 am

    Reblogged this on Walter 4 Palm Beach and commented:
    Pete You count me in to vote. Good thoughts! Have a nice weekend

    Like

  5. September 22, 2016 10:31 am

    you can me count on me to vote.

    Like

Leave a Reply

