Skip to content

I am a “deplorable” person… and proud of it!

September 15, 2016

A number of years ago a candidate for President referred to me and millions of others like me as a person who ‘clings to my gun and my religion’, and even though when he first uttered those words it was meant as a derogatory peteart33remark, I took it as praise for the way I live my life. Since I first started writing for this blog the ‘by-line’ at the top reads “Pete’s Alaska – God, family, country my view out the cabin window”, meaning my priority is first with my Lord then my family and then my country all of which I will defend until my death.

So now when another Presidential candidate says, ‘you could put half of Trump’s supporters into what I call the basket of deplorables….. the racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic, Islamaphobic — you name it’ I once again have to stand up and say yes I am proud to be an Islamaphobe. No I do not hate people who are Muslims but once again common sense dictates that we do not allow a flood of migrants into this country from countries who see America as the ‘great Satin’ and want to destroy us without a lengthy (in depth) background check.

Our founding fathers knew full well that to create a great nation its people should be steadfast in their religious beliefs, with strong family values and a love for their country and freedom, protected by their right to bear arms. Yet one of the current candidates for President espouses unfettered immigration by people who have voiced no intention of assimilating into the American way of life, and in fact want to destroy it. Whoever wins the upcoming election could indeed change the very nature of our way of life.

So once again
I say I am proud to be
a deplorable person
who clings to my bible and my gun
because for 240 years
our nation has been a shinning light of freedom in the world
and I want it to stay that way
for future generations.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2016 10:18 pm

    So long as you’re living your life, based off of high morale, then, it doesn’t matter what the rest of the world thinks of you, so long as you don’t hurt anyone intentionally or unknowingly, you should be able to rest easy at night, and wake up refresh, and that, should be enough to you, who CARES what others may think!!!

    Like

  2. September 16, 2016 5:21 am

    A-MEN, Brother Pete!!

    Like

  3. Del permalink
    September 16, 2016 10:10 am

    Me too Pete… Good one

    Like

  4. tcriggs permalink
    September 16, 2016 10:11 am

    Political rhetoric is just that, rhetoric. I don’t condone it in any form. But unfortunately, people seem to only respond to one-liners and scare tactics. Or at least that’s what the advisors and pollsters tell them.

    (I always wondered who these people that they polled are, I mean no one ever asked ‘me’…)

    Anyway. I can’t agree with you wholeheartedly on all points. But I know your heart is in the right place. And I agree with Taurusingemini up there. As long as you’re living your life and enjoying the freedom that God and this country gives you… I would smile and wave at you at the traffic light! :-)

    Like

  5. Jon permalink
    September 17, 2016 12:07 pm

    One of the most thought-provoking postings I’ve seen lately from you, Pete. If this is deplorable, then give me more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

