Skip to content

Stuck in time

August 30, 2016

P1020973

It has been said if you gather enough monkeys and allow them to randomly pound away at typewriters, given enough time, they will write the works of Shakespeare. I also postulate that if you watch enough detective/crime shows, the ones written by quality writers, you will be exposed to some very profound statements. In one episode of ‘Criminal Minds‘ the FBI agent David Rossie is talking with another agent about a murder victims home and the fact that even though the victim had lived there for six months there was still many unpacked boxes and the other agent turned and said…..”that’s because she is stuck in time”

I believe I understand that idea of being stuck in time very well, because after four months I too have many boxes still unopened and most areas of my apartment are only partially arranged to my liking. Now one can attribute this static state to my renowned laziness and I would have to agree that they are partially correct, but there is something else holding me back from totally ‘jumping in’ and accepting this new chapter of my life.

With our past fixed and unchanging and our future, for the most part, an unknown it seems that it is only the present that we have any control over. If you throw a rock into a lake or pond the ripples move outward from where that rock first hit, those ripples could then be our lives moving outward from birth with those ripples intersecting changes in our lives along the way. Sometimes those ripples of our life encounter obstacles, like buried rocks or trees growing throughout the lake. In real life those obstacles could be the death of a loved one, changing ones career or the need to relocate.

Early in life the obstacles merely change the flow of the ripple however toward the end of ones life when the ripple is at its weakest those obstacles can totally dampen and at times extinguish what is remaining of that ripple. I started the month out with a full head of steam and for the first time in years published 9 postings in a month with some weeks seeing three unrelated postings, now at the end of the month I am low to put any words together to make a quality posting.

I feel I am ‘stuck in time’ with at the very least a brain that just wants to wallow in self pity. It could be the heat of the Texas sun, the crush of civilization or the loss of my friends and my old home. Whatever the reason I have even toyed with the idea of removing my blog from WordPress, because of lack of inspiration, like I have done already with amateur radio. But fret not dear reader this is, I am hoping, only a temporary state of mind. Most of us have gone through major life changing situations and this is no different, all one needs is patience.

WordPress is an excellent vehicle for me to vent
weather writing about
bad or good
personal or national
it allows me to put my feelings into the daylight
and hopefully
that light will get me ‘un-stuck from time’.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dwight permalink
    August 30, 2016 3:08 pm

    Beautiful photos in the sidebar, Pete.

    Hang in there, I have moved at least six times, and it took a while to settle in at each new place.

    Like

  2. TriciaLynn permalink
    August 30, 2016 5:42 pm

    We all get stuck (well at least i know i do) from time to time. Like when i am working on an art project. For what ever reason (i never can figure out why) Sometimes i have to just walk away from it before i ruin it and / or my mood gets self destructive (sound familiar ). Sometimes it takes an hour, sometimes it takes a month and it has evan taken over a year before my head got “back inthe game” & I was able to complete it. I’m guessing there is a good reason for this to happen (all though i don’t like that it happens) … but in short… you will, eventually, finish unpacking and make your new apartment a home.( take it from somebody who has moved a “couple” times)

    *** In the case it’s just the lazyness… I’ll be there in 2 and 1/2 months and I’ll help you get it done.

    Like

  3. September 1, 2016 9:13 am

    Hang tough Pete! You will rebound for your current ‘negatively leaning’ state of mind. I think everyone goes through similar in their lives; Lord knows I certainly have done so. As to what we human beings really have…we just can’t seem to get it through our thick skulls that we only ‘own’ this immediate moment. Trying to live in the ‘moment’ is extremely difficult but oh so rewarding!

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    September 1, 2016 6:16 pm

    The last two sentences are the reasons we’ll keep on hearing from you buddy. Just rock back & forth to get out of the rut you’re in. Just don’t overheat the transmission doing it!! LOL!!

    Like

  5. September 2, 2016 10:14 am

    I feel the same sometimes with my blog and even with photography. I don’t like to HAVE to do anything and when I feel like that I back away. Sometimes life has a way of beckoning us to balance ourselves or to look for other things in our lives or even things in our lives already that we can’t see. I hope you stay because while I’m sporadic, I love your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

