Skip to content

Black and white… one thing in common

July 8, 2016

13567191_1329669100394902_7597502668606895487_n

When going to bed last night I turned on the radio to the news of the slaughter of 5 police officers and the wounding of 11 other officers and civilians just miles away from my apartment. This happened hours after I had just started writing a posting dealing with the recent shootings in Louisiana and Minnesota. That posting was a direct result of a posting by another writer on a WordPress blog lamenting the fact why does the shootings of African Americans continue.

That posting written by a 22 year old black male, (as he described himself), contained some harsh truths that made me stop and think. I would challenge all of my readers to visit his blog and read this posting. He was unsettled over the fact that he had, “come to the realization that there is little to no hope the change that we want will be arriving any time soon”. In light of his eloquent words and the events last night here in Dallas, we can all see his words have come to fruition.

As a white male I have always given law enforcement officers the benefit of a doubt and the thought that they would act out of hatred or racism never entered my mind. Yes I know just like throughout society as a whole there are many people with short fuses who will react violently when pressed, I just assume those people would be weeded out before becoming police officers.

However the police in those last two shootings and other police involved in shootings before that, did not go out to with the intent to hunt and kill innocent black men, whereas in last nights incident the police were hunted. The one suspect that the police negotiated with before he died told police that, “ the end is coming, and he’s going to hurt and kill more of us”.

So with continued racial unrest rampant across the nation
and violent outbursts like what happened here in Dallas
I see this situation as the young man stated only continuing with…
“little or no hope that change will arrive any time soon”.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2016 10:09 am

    Obama will be remembered, assuming an even close to accurate synopsis of his eight years are written, as the ‘great racial divider’. He took a page right out of Saul Alinsky’s playbook and did his best to fan racial mistrust and hatred to new levels. This goes hand in hand with the ‘class warfare’ he’s been working to exacerbate. This is part of why I so dread the potential of a Hillary presidency; I believe in all my heart she will fan the flames of gender inequality and use the fallout to her own benefit. It is so sad no one seems to care about what is good for the country any longer; rather, in classic ‘Clintonesque’ style, they just want to ensure their own power and money… I would be the first to admit our law enforcement has often been bigoted and there are ‘bad’ cops out there but they are the exception and that is what that lousy ‘Black Lives Matter’ organization cannot seem to get through its collective head! Keep your head down, Pete, and stay safe!!

    Like

  2. July 8, 2016 10:22 am

    Thanks for posting this Pete. I read the other post and like yourself I saw things in a different way.

    Like

  3. July 8, 2016 10:38 am

    Let’s put our right to free speech ahead of gun ownership, and restore the WELL-REGULATED to the Second Amendment. There’s no justification — none! — for what you so accurately name as slaughter.

    Like

  4. Captain permalink
    July 8, 2016 12:07 pm

    Social media has blown communication channels wide open with the immediate delivery of information anywhere in the world. We as a society have always wrestled with these current issues plaguing us; but only now can we instantly have the latest news delivered to our exact location as it occurs. Social media is a beneficial tool on so many levels however the information being disseminated is equal to the bias that of the lens holder. The neutrality of these sites’ decision makers has recently come under question in not so distant headlines. I personally have only tried one of these sites as I thought it would be a great way to stay technologically connected with my kids. After only a couple of weeks, I have given it up due to the negative emotions I had to deal with each time the app loaded. Let me explain… I wanted to see the kids’ snapshots, cute puppies, and waterfalls. Instead It told me I’d like to see posts which were objectionable to me and against every moral fiber of my being: no matter how many times I clicked “see less posts like this”. No thanks. But I did try it. In my opinion, it is likely that others are wishing to see fewer propaganda-type posts and these apps are intent on feeding them with a gavage. Still-maturing minds are told what is “trending” and that they too should inspire to subscribe. The internet has been humanitys’ best and worst invention. It very well may be tool needed to unleash the evil and turn us onto eachother. I feel for the African-American community as I see the injustice. I am a caucasion person who as a child aspired to be a civil rights attorney to help all people fight unjust situations. Life had other plans for me. Ironically I experienced reverse-racism personally later in life no matter who might say it does not exist. That experience did not sway my views of people of color. It did however teach me caution. Not “all black people….” type caution; but a caution that not all black people will be as friendly as I am. I have never feared just because I was in a crowd with mixed races. However, sadly I can no longer say this. One Dallas sniper was quoted as saying he wanted to kill white people, particularly white cops. I’m not in law enforcement but does he still want to kill me? Kill my kids? Why would you kill people that would be sympathetic and willing to help? This world has gone bat-$hit crazy… and I’m pretty sure social media is NOT helping.

    Like

  5. July 9, 2016 9:32 am

    I so appreciate any one of any color who is willing to listen to other points of view and remember the dignity each of us possesses as human beings. Thank you for being willing to listen and wrestle. I will visit the post you referenced.

    Like

  6. July 10, 2016 5:50 am

    Unfortunately, we don’t live inside a novel or TV drama where everything comes out ‘right’ in the end. I fear that racism and violence will outlive us all. I’m grateful that we don’t have tv at the moment…

    Like

  7. Jon permalink
    July 10, 2016 10:54 am

    Pete,
    I sent you an email on the behind-the-scenes story on Philandro Castille. I think you’ll find it interesting, indeed.
    We were out of town & only heard about the large freeway-closing demonstration here last night.

    Like

Leave a Reply

