Skip to content

A monkey on my back… a 60 second explanation

July 7, 2016

Some of you have asked me about the the ‘monkey and skull’ sculpture
and my categorizing a posting as ‘area 51’
and I thought I would take a minute to explain both of them to you.

mky2

Most of the time when I use the category ‘Area 51’ it is because I have no idea how to categorize what the posting is about. It may touch on or begin with some newsworthy event or have a taste of political ramifications but it wonders off on a tangent that is at times a bit bizarre. Or it may indeed have something to do with the paranormal thus I have created the ‘Area 51’ category.

The ‘monkey and skull’ photograph is one of the last sculptures my wife painted and fired before she died. The monkey looking at the skull in what appears to be consternation and wonderment signifies to me one pondering something totally alien to them. What is not seen in this edited version of the photograph is that the monkey is sitting on a pile of books with the top one being Darwin’s theory of evolution.

So I use the sculpture and or Area 51 category
to denote a posting that I think deserves a serious second look.

One Comment leave one →
  1. john permalink
    July 7, 2016 5:39 am

    interesting on both points, “things” seldom have one meaning best
    73 john w8wej

    Like

Leave a Reply

