Skip to content

Fire and ice… the yin and yang of Little Elm Texas

June 29, 2016

DSCF0558

With the weather man calling for temperatures in or near 100 degrees for the fourth of July I am looking to hunker down even more for the upcoming weekend. When I heard that report the first thing I thought of was my electric bill, and how it would soar right along with the temperature. Then another thought occurred to me about my old home in Alaska.

During the deep winter cold snaps I would run my heater even more and of course that meant it would use more fuel and thus cost more. That’s when I also realized this was just the yin and yang of relocating to Texas. Cold winter temps in Alaska and blazingly hot summer temps here in Texas. Spend more money in the winter up there heating the cabin and more money down here in the summer trying to stay cool.

Before I moved I envisioned days spent on the lakefront fishing, time spent with the grandchildren playing in the parks and me sitting outside without a bother of loosing pints of blood to hordes of mosquitoes. Yes I knew it would be hotter than back at the cabin… I just never thought it would force me to spend my days inside like the winters did back home.

I remember joking with friends about how in Alaska all I had to do was just layer more cloths on and I was good to go outside on the coldest of days and down here I would do the reverse, but little did I realize that you can only shed so many pieces of cloths before they come and arrest you!

So here I sit typing away at my new form of inside entertainment, whiling away the days and weeks until it will be comfortable for me to once again emerge into the sunlight.

So weather minus twenty or plus ninety-eight
it appears that I will continue to spend a quarter of each year
in my own personal yin and yang
…..hibernation.

P1020679

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2016 12:52 pm

    Beautiful photos!

    Like

  2. June 29, 2016 4:39 pm

    Oh yuck! Heat dislike!!

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    June 29, 2016 4:57 pm

    Living here in Minnesota (Minne so cold or Minne snow and cold) before climate change I stayed in the last 2 Sun. because here at the house read 103 with high dew points. although I suspect the outdoor temp. sensor is reading a little high.
    The good news is the gas bill was just over $18 last month but the electric goes up because of the central air. Keep the stat at 77 & Margie still puts on a blanket!
    Hang in there; in a few short months you’ll be battling a Blue Norther! LOL!

    Like

  4. June 29, 2016 6:12 pm

    Pretty photos. I was just thinking the other day about being inside with the air on and that it’s the same as winter that way. It reached 100 here yesterday but it doesn’t last long. Today’s back down into the low 80’s. Hope you get a cooler day soon!

    Like

  5. June 30, 2016 7:48 am

    Hey Buddy – good analogy; without question life’s all about making decisions and living with the consequences. You could either remain in remote Interior Alaska and deal with extremely cold winters or move to more densely populated Little Elm (TX) and deal with just plain hot temperature/dew point combinations across the summer. At least ya don’t have to deal with mosquitoes during the summer months; at this point up here I’m not sure which I despise more – the mosquitoes or the tourists. And, of course, this upcoming holiday is probably the worst of any during tourist season followed closely by Memorial Day and then Labor Day. I’m gonna get my butt in gear now and make the drive to Wasilla such that I’m all loaded up and will not have to drive anywhere across the next five days. I may drive into the village for some of the Fourth festivities but that’s just a 14 mile round trip. Have a fabulous Fourth, Pete..!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

