Skip to content

We interrupt our regular posting for a message from….

June 25, 2016

The ritual of waking up in the middle of the night is nothing new to me. But tonight it was different because along with the need to get up and head for the outhouse I felt something familiar, the wisp of petereturning gout pain. After I hobbled to the bathroom and made it back to bed it was a while before sleep returned because of the discomfort in my foot. Suffice it to say a few hours later when I gave up and got out of bed rather than wait to make sure it was a gout attack I immediately took my gout medicine.

After my morning ablutions I poured my coffee and headed outside to enjoy that first sip of coffee as my brain slowly welcomed the world around me. One of the first things I noticed as I walked outside was my thermometer which read 81 degrees and it was only 7:30 in the morning! However just like the past few days there was a nice breeze so I sat down and savored the sunrise.

Now this would be where I close this posting as the neurons snap and fire up my dormant brain but something happened. For the first time in my 70 years as I sat and reflected on the day ahead I felt a drop of water hit my forehead. Strange since it hasn’t rained here for a week so I wiped it with a tissue and found… bird crap!

Does the gout, heat and bird crap have some meaning for the day ahead? Those of you who have followed me for a while know I tend to look for ‘signs’ and direction in uncommon occurrences and this would definitely fit that classification. If I added the brand new gout attack, the high temperature this early in the morning and the delivery from above what could it possibly mean?

I have not yet figured it out
but it did have me abandon the posting
on the supreme court that was ready
and for sure I won’t be driving anywhere today
because who knows with signs like these
my truck may be swallowed
by a sinkhole!

sarcasm3

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2016 5:41 am

    Ugh Buddy, if it is 81° F at 07:30 then I’d wager the relative humidity is probably somewhere in the 75% to 90% range so the dew point is probably in the seventies! I remember similar weather from my time in South Carolina and SW Ohio. Unlike you I wouldn’t sit out in such conditions; I’d be hiding in an air-conditioned room!

    Like

  2. June 25, 2016 10:14 am

    It’ IS good luck for a bird to crap on you.. Better go out and buy a lottery ticket.

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    June 25, 2016 5:32 pm

    Let us know how this day worked out for you, Pete. Sometimes in life we all get shit from unexpected places! LOL!!
    Was a steamer here today at 96 officially with a 72 degree dew point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

