Skip to content

A sauna in the morning

June 20, 2016

Reveille blasted from the speakers and another day was once again forced upon me. Today we had a morning inspection by the new company commander and everyone was aiming to look sharp. I took a DSCF1015new tailor-made uniform from the closet and ‘broke starch’ just for the occasion. As we formed up and the ‘CO’ began to check each of us out I noticed all those in fresh new uniforms were already spotted with growing sweat stains and the once sharp creases were already a wrinkled mess… so it was for the security detachment of the 137th Ordnance company stationed in the Far East.

That was 1964, today as I walked out the door to sit and enjoy my first cup of coffee I was hit by a wall… surprisingly not much different than what I experienced in the far East, of humidity that felt like walking into a sauna and it was only eight in the morning. Since most of you know not of living in the far East… think of stepping into a hot steaming shower. That was last week here in Texas, this week a short moderation in temperature and humidity plus a ever so slight breeze made my morning coffee ritual a pleasant change to last weeks steam bath.

…and to think I used to hate it when
my coveralls froze solid
as I walked to the generator shed.

Yup just another of those
‘little things’
I would have to adapt too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2016 11:04 am

    Hey Buddy – Yep, I remember ‘summering’ in Greenville, South Carolina in support of the release of a new flavor of salad dressing being co-packed for us. I’d get outta my bed at the Residence Inn, shave, shower, get dressed, grab a cup of coffee and walk outside. The air temp was often in the upper seventies with the dew point right there as well; it was so humid it was like trying to breathe glass! When I’d get to the plant the disgusting smell of yesterday’s ‘Original Ranch’ dressing was mixed in; that’s a summer I’d just as soon forget!

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    June 20, 2016 3:53 pm

    Pete, you know it’s humid when you step out of your air-conditioned car or walk out of a store & your glasses fog up. Yesterday our dew point reached almost 70 deg. & my thermometer read 103. I’m going to have to check that out. Stayed in most of the day except to work a little in the garage with the doors closed.
    We were in Charleston, S.C. for a wedding a few years back. Even with the a/c the walls in the hotel room felt damp at 92 temp. & 73 deg. dew point. Got back to Mpls.a few hours later & had to turn on the furnace because a cold front had gone through!
    Welcome to the Gulf ol’ buddy!

    Like

  3. June 23, 2016 5:51 am

    I’m a humidity wimp! We are dry here in California with no humidity or it’s so low I don’t notice it. Anytime I go to a place with humidity I MELT!

    Like

Leave a Reply

