Skip to content

Its the little things…

June 16, 2016

I slammed the drawer shut and turned to try another as my frustration level grew. I know it was there DSCF2917because I used it just the other day but now it had mysteriously vanished. I also know I packed a number of them, and back home they all had their own specific location so I would know where they were when I needed them. Now however even though I only found one when unpacking even that one has gone astray, probably because it still does not have a new home.

I am sure quite a number of you have felt the same frustration when you have moved. Remembering or even writing down what was in box #3 or #10, but then when you arrive at your new location things get misplaced… because they do not have that same ‘old’ specific location to be in. Over the years you may have noticed that I am a man of routine and had a place for virtually everything I own.This has come to help me in these later years when I tend to forget quite quickly. Now I am faced daily with the overwhelming task of locating, finding and giving a new home to virtually thousands of everyday objects.

Of all the considerations I pondered over the months and years deciding weather or not to move, finding a new home for my scissors was never one of them. But without their home or for that matter without any shelves, bookcases or tables it is to late now and I realize that there are literally hundreds upon hundreds of ‘little’ things that need a new home… one that I will now have to remember and one that will take a long time to become second nature.

I know to you this may seem trivial but to one who is easily overloaded psychologically it is a daunting task to undertake. Especially when one must consider that it is not only the small things that are now homeless but also the big things, like where is the nearest hospital, laundry, food store or place to have my oil changed. Again you are saying big deal figure it out… but I can tell you it would be quite easy to get very depressed as I face this myriad of things.

That said I will continue down the path I have chosen
putting one foot in front of the other

provided……

I can find a clean pair of socks!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    June 16, 2016 7:22 am

    I will be moving also. I do very well with lists. When I accomplish something on my list and can cross it off…….it’s a feeling of satisfaction. After 31 years in the same place….well….things will be a mess for a while, lol. A sense of humor helps :) I KNOW where my radios are :)

    Like

  2. john permalink
    June 16, 2016 8:30 am

    socks are in the upper left hand drawer—you are welcome!! john w8wej

    Like

  3. June 16, 2016 10:37 am

    Hey Buddy – I’m sure you are still quite ‘raw’ regarding the move and all the seemingly endless negative issues tied directly to the event. But once again, time really does heal all wounds and I think you will soon start to be less ‘sensitive’ to life’s little inconveniences. After almost four years up here I’m just now locating some items which I thought hadn’t made the move from Michigan. Sometimes this irritates me but I’m learning to see the humor in such events and then try to just move forward. Not much else we can do, anyway, is there..?

    Like

  4. Intlxpatr permalink
    June 16, 2016 10:41 am

    First, I am so sorry you had to leave Alaska, and WOW, driving four thousand miles. My entire life, post Alaskan childhood, was moving. Here’s the thing about scissors – they are cheap. You can buy packs of them in the office stores. So I keep a pair in the bathroom, a pair in the kitchen, a pair in my sewing room, and one specially marked pair for clipping herbs in the garden. Yes, it goes against all Alaskan frugalities. AND, we can made a concession here and there to aging, and keeping ourselves in good humor. :-)

    Like

  5. June 17, 2016 6:31 pm

    Ah, the joys and frustrations of moving. As an ex military wife, I have managed to fine tune our moving routines so much so, that I could literally unpack our whole house within one day, tidy away the following day, hang pictures on day three and be pretty much settled in by four or five. It took me 10 years to perfect this, so I had an unfair advantage of years of learning. Trying to find a place for all your things can be very overwhelming and as you say, one step at a time. Try and set yourself a bit of a schedule and tackle a box/a section/a room a day Pete. I find that after having lived in our current for the past 7 years there are items that never really did find a forever home, and so we are still rejigging things (I guess our teenager doesn’t help with constantly bringing in new “needed” items and moving others to places I would never think to look for them!!). Just make sure you don’t do what my husband does, place the remote control in the fridge and the milk ends up in the pantry for some odd reason. After 5 minutes of wondering what happened to the remote control he usually finds the milk in the pantry which reminds him that the remote is in the fridge!

    Like

  6. Jon permalink
    June 19, 2016 4:00 am

    Though we’ve been in our house for 16 years now, it’s funny how you put things down & can’t for the life of you remember where.
    Two weeks ago I was doing the laundry & checked my wife’s gym bag for said purpose & put her water bottle in the laundry basket brought the whole thing into the laundry room & washed her clothes. Just this past Friday did I make a concerted effort to remember where I set it & there it was in plain sight in the laundry room on the folding table! She really liked this particular bottle but had just gone & bought a new one, which brings up an old axiom; if you can’t find something just buy a new one & walla!
    Have any of you ever walked around looking for your car keys only to find them in your hand? LOL!!

    Like

  7. June 21, 2016 1:17 pm

    What a great post Pete. Looking forward to reading more of your story and getting to know you. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Like

  8. July 11, 2016 5:37 am

    My bride and I will be moving soon, though our relocation will be less heart wrenching than yours, hopefully. Still, 30 years in one location means a huge pile of accumulated stuff, all of which must be dealt with. So, I feel your pain, to say nothing of the cold floor on your unsocked feet. Best of luck!

    Like

  9. TriciaLynn permalink
    July 30, 2016 10:58 am

    I am my fathers daughter… i swear my siccors were in the top far left drawer in the kitchen!
    And since u are in the real wourld during the day maybe take a break from chexking out news web sights and check out google earth. Start with your addresd and work your way out… virtually seeing whats in your neighborhood!

    Like

Leave a Reply

