Skip to content

Life in the ‘new world’

June 9, 2016
DSCF2902

A small part of Lewisville Lake

The caffeine gradually works its magic as I slowly sip it and enjoy the last couple hours of the cool morning air. I become faintly aware that unlike Alaska no steam is rising from the freshly poured coffee, and with the mental fog lifting I am mindful that this is but one of many new elements that make up life here in my new world of Little Elm, Texas. From the smaller changes of tea to coffee, because I now have full time electricity, to the larger ones of driving at any time of the day in what back home we would call ‘rush hour traffic’…. it is all a part of trying to adapt.

Granted the amenities of civilization from full time electricity to running hot water and a shower everyday plus having a refrigerator full of (fresh) food cushions the loss of my old lifestyle, but something is missing. I have been looking to achieve some sort of rhythm to my new life and as yet it still eludes me. My life in Alaskan was structured and gave me direction throughout the day, but now I basically walk around bumping into mental walls and I simply address whatever new thing that pops into my head.

I have found that I can navigate the Dallas area with the aide of my Garmin, (thank you Bill), but still dread the traffic that makes what I experienced in Northern Alaska seem like nothing at all. Truth be told, though I am an avid sport fisherman, I have not yet made my first cast in the lake directly across the street from my apartment. I have obtained a license and have resurrected my gear only to find it needs line and some work to get it back in operation.

Yes I have been able to spend more time with my grandchildren and this definitely takes ones mind off any malaise hovering over my head, but though I have been here three weeks now I still feel like I am a visitor. Life is now manifestly better because of access to my family and modern convinces so why do I still feel like someone walking in the dark?

I will continue to put one foot in front of the other
walking down this road of life
in my new world,
and have faith
that God will give me direction.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Dwight permalink
    June 10, 2016 12:53 am

    Will take a little time to adjust, Pete. Good to see that you are pretty much moved in. Time to find the 2 meter repeater and see what local ham are up to.

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    June 10, 2016 1:23 am

    The last thing you said is all you need to do for now Pete (besides going fishing! LOL!) Good advice for anyone, though. God bless you.

    Like

  3. June 10, 2016 5:39 am

    ‘Morning Pete – I’ll echo some of the previous wise comments; just give yourself time to continue to settle in and adjust. Good Lord, I was thinking back to when I relocated up here and pulled into this place on August 6th of 2013; I didn’t unload my last box until early October so I needed a full two months just to get unpacked! And you’re thinking you should be fully integrated into your new life within three weeks time..? It will happen, Pete, and I agree with Jon – get out there and try the fishing. As to the traffic…I abhor driving into the Palmer-Wasilla area for just that reason and it is nowhere near what you face. Just take your time and let the ‘youngsters’ drive by ya at warp 5! Hope the shirt fits; I saw it on-line just after you’d headed south and couldn’t resist. Also glad the Garmin is continuing to help ya. As always, stay in touch, my Friend!!

    Like

  4. Eileen McNeilage permalink
    June 10, 2016 7:08 am

    Hey Pete, have not been keeping in touch lately been a busy life here but just saw that your place in Alaska is up for sale, and now see that you have already left the area…how sad for you so loved where you were. As you mentioned, good to have the gr kids so close and of course son who can help you with what ever, I also am beginning to realize that I just cannot do things as fast or at all that I used to never think about, just do it and go on to the next project. I am still on the farm, hoping that I will never have to leave till my heart no longer beats. My mother is also in her own house on my farm and will turn 100 this fall…go mom, I wanna be just like her when I grow up. Hang in there Pete, best to you and the struggles of civilization, traffic jams, people, and Garmin dependency.

    Like

  5. Del permalink
    June 10, 2016 10:56 am

    I would find someone with a boat too! lol

    Like

  6. June 14, 2016 4:51 am

    I was going to pump you up with some innocuous comment but all I can think of is OY THE TRAFFIC! I moved out to our little valley to get away from it but it has come in droves. The building is unreal! The freeway is clogged up in the mornings till 9:30 and starts in again at 2:30. It’s crazy. I wonder how we are going to serve all these new people that they are building homes for. What about our drought? And where will all the cars go? I’m glad I’m retired.

    Like

  7. Intlxpatr permalink
    June 16, 2016 10:55 am

    Pete, I don’t think that a day has gone by in my life since I left Alaska that I haven’t had a moment of grief. Alaska is special. You were blessed. New blessings are in store, but there is nothing wrong with missing Alaska. How could you not?

    Like

Leave a Reply

