Skip to content

Almost there

May 14, 2016

With 5 days and almost 3,000 miles behind me, to say I am in rough shape is an understatement. After two nights of ‘trying’ to sleep in the drivers seat of my pick up,  I am staying in a hotel (Cheyenne, CO) and though tired I thought you may want to hear from me.

The drive was spectacular until I got to Ft. Nelson BC, then it turned into just a driving challenge. Even today while traversing the majestic hills of Wyoming and Montana they paled those I drove by almost daily in Alaska.  Tonight I sit comfortably showered as I attempt to write this posting on a computer (PC) with an operating system over a decade old….(ie frustrating)

I have the will but not the strength to write a full description of what the trip was like, I will write in depth once I get to Texas and get set up. Suffice it to say I have had everything from engine lights going off, to strange smells and noises when doing 75 for extended periods of time and from Caribou and bear blocking the road to anxiety over where the next fuel stop is. Yes I know all common events for road trips, but remember the last time I made this journey I was 10 years younger and enjoyed each new challenge.

 

So to all my family and friends I say

thanks for your readership and that

once again God has proven to me

many times during this trip

that we must just put our trust in him.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    May 14, 2016 6:20 pm

    Pete,
    Boy, you’re one fast traveler. Guess you’re anxious to get to Texas just in time for heat & humidity! LOL!! I’m sure you know weather has once again been topsy-turvy; people awoke this morning to snow on the ground in northern Mn. for the fishing opener. Had mid-30s here in Mpls.-St. Paul while it was 82 in Fairbanks.
    Glad to hear you’re healthy, though tired from traveling.
    Thanks for updating us & continued safe travels, Pete. The rate you’re going, you’ll be there by Tuesday or Wednesday.

    Like

  2. May 15, 2016 5:21 am

    Hey Buddy – whew, you don’t let any grass grow under yer wheels, do ya?! At least you’ve cleared the potentially dicey areas in terms of services and as you indicated the rest is pretty much downhill. Hope ya have lots of sodium naproxen (Aleve) available to soothe those sore, aching muscles..? When ya reach our ages eight to twelve hours in a car for days on end definitely is wearing. Sadly, as you indicated, the American Rockies pale in comparison to the Canadian Rockies which just cannot match the Alaska Range, the Wrangell’s or the Chugach in stark beauty. Drive safe my Friend, and God Speed!

    Like

  3. May 15, 2016 5:56 am

    Glad you are safely making your way down the States. Looking forward to hearing a more detailed account of events on the road, but sure sounds like you had some memorable (good and bad) experiences.

    Like

  4. Dwight permalink
    May 16, 2016 1:59 am

    Hi Pete… That’s an average of 600 miles per day! Impressive. Bet you are looking forward to a long sleep in your new home. Take it easy, you don’t have to unpack in one day! Many thanks for your travel updates…

    Like

  5. Angela Comose Wass permalink
    May 16, 2016 5:31 am

    Safe travels and enjoy your next chapter of your life

    Like

  6. TexasJim permalink
    May 16, 2016 8:22 am

    I wish you the best on your trip. I live almost in Mexico, just one mile from the Rio Grande. For me to get out of Texas any way I go it is two day travel. WELCOME TO TEXAS

    Like

  7. Jennifer Wolfenden permalink
    May 16, 2016 1:18 pm

    Have a safe trip, Mr Burokas! Sending good karma from Philly! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

