Skip to content

Leaving Alaska… Carhartts, God and memories

April 20, 2016

As I sat waiting for my son’s plane to land I observed the people surrounding me. From the grizzled old man in Carhartt overalls and rubber boots to the family with the wife and children in dresses that would be at home on the TV series ‘Little house on the prairie’. Sitting next to me a young man with a rough beard that had not seen a razor in weeks and a guy wearing paints held up with tattered suspenders and boots wrapped in duck tape.

In my mind I compared this scene to the many I witnessed when flying home from Christmas visits to my family in Texas and the difference was like night and day. In the Dallas and Seattle airports the vast majority looked like they were wearing new clothing and it appeared as if they just stepped out of a shower. This dichotomy lost on those I observed was not missed by me.

I would shortly be moving both physically as well as psychologically between two vastly different environments, and it gives one pause to wonder how this extreme change in lifestyle will be adapted to. For years I have been know by those around me as an curmudgeon and set in my ways. Those same people knew that any change in routine would have me grunting like an angry bear, so what indeed would this total transformation in daily living have on me.

Being for decades a glass half full man it has taken quite a while for me to realize that this change is not only a necessary one but a beneficial one. Over the years my family kept reminding me that I needed to be closer to medical help if it was needed, but this would not be the main mitigating factor for this move.

I think the primary reason is that for a number of years now I have lived close to my daughter and now I believe it was time to be close to my son and grandchildren. When you add to that the fact that this past winter, though not a bad one it still forced me to realize I am no longer physically able to maintain this off grid lifestyle. Add to that the icing on the cake, (I like icing), that I will have constant running hot water, electricity that does not require me to go out into -20 degree weather to turn on and you have additional good reasons for the move.

There is still that very large hole that will exist in my soul for a land where one is free and unencumbered by rules and regulations, a land where at almost every turn one can witness Gods handiwork. But in moving one does not loose one’s memories… and those cherished memories of my time in Alaska, will remain with me for the rest of my life.


As I move to a new path
on life’s road
I will pray that
he guides my steps
and continues
to walk by my side.


This posting made possible through Winlink
the ham radio emergency email system

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott AC2FV permalink
    April 21, 2016 2:48 am

    God Bless You Pete on your new adventure.

    Like

  2. April 21, 2016 10:50 am

    Alaska has marked you as surely as you’ve left your mark on her, Pete. I completely understand your reluctance to make this move but then as we’ve discussed this really did seem to be the only rational decision. While I’d bet you will see changes in yourself as you settle into your new life there will always be a part of ‘The Great Land’ within your soul. FYI – for some reason WordPress just wiped out your site as one I follow; I just had to manually add it back to my ‘following’ list. Wondered why I hadn’t seen postings from you for a while…

    Like

  3. April 21, 2016 5:06 pm

    Pete, it sounds like your memories are some very wonderful ones that you can draw upon when life in civilization gets too much. And yes, there is a lot to be said for running hot water and electricity on demand. Looking forward to seeing what your new life will bring you.

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    April 21, 2016 6:05 pm

    Pete,
    Don’t know what happened to my first post, but anyway, looks like you’ve gone from indecision to resignation to looking forward to this next chapter in your life. And you’re feeling physical self is feeling better also. Thumbs up from here!

    Like

  5. April 24, 2016 11:16 pm

    Hold fast to your memories of Alaska; this is indeed a special place. Best wishes in your new adventures! Seemingly limitless hot water, that sounds like heaven.

    Like

  6. May 12, 2016 4:26 pm

    I’m sniffling… Beautiful post Pete. It will be nice being near your family. And yes, you will never lose those memories. And you will have such amazing stories to tell your grandkids. Best of luck to you. :-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

