Skip to content

March madness becomes an April fool

April 2, 2016

Day 33… As I sat there sipping my morning coffee looking out the cabin window I wished I still had an internet connection. I was wondering if anyone would believe me without posting some current pictures of what I was watching. I know anyone checking the weather reports would find that Fairbanks was enjoying warming temperature’s and calls for rain instead of snow. But out here just 65 miles from Fairbanks it looked more like last December instead of April.

On each trip to town in March the snow and ice was disappearing from the roadways. The temperature even here at the cabin was in the high 20’s and even at times touching 32 degrees. The snow-pack was dropping and one could see bare patches of earth on my driveway. But the anticipation of that Spring March madness left over a week ago when what the weather man called for a winter weather advisory. Over the course of the last week the thermometer has found a home in the teens and the ‘snow showers’ he called for are being measured in many inches of new snow.

After two decades in Alaska I should know that April and even May can bring snow events like this but it has been a week now of off but mostly on snow falling. So today when I woke with the intent of shoveling the snow from yesterday I was faced again with yet another 2-4 inch ‘snow shower’. If that internet connection was up and running I would have posted some video of what looked like a December snow storm. With the wind blowing uncountable quarter sized snow flakes, once again making my driveway look like an abandoned snow trail somewhere in the frozen Arctic.


I am now lamenting days gone by
when I would have reveled in a snow fall like this.
But now years older
I can only sit and watch
at God’s April fools sense of humor!


This posting made possible through Winlink
the ham radio emergency email system.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. john permalink
    April 2, 2016 4:04 pm

    hang in there,, in due time , head south to Tx, not the ending of an era, but the beginning of a new-=–enjoy family–no matter where you are john w8wej

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    April 2, 2016 5:46 pm

    Pete,
    Two weeks ago we reached 79 degrees; about 10 days ago we had 9-14″ of snow across southern Mn. including 9 at our house. The good news is it was gone in about 2 days. In my life I’ve seen 20″ of snow in April two times in Mn.. Also 95 degrees, golf-ball size hail, & tornadoes though I didn’t see the twisters.
    Hang in there buddy. Glad to know you’re at least feeling better.

    Like

  3. May 12, 2016 4:46 pm

    Amazing how dependent we’ve become on technology.

    Like

Leave a Reply

