Skip to content

Leaving Alaska… Sickness, winter and politics

March 21, 2016

Day 45… After loosing a full week of sorting, packing and shipping today is the first day I have had the strength to deal with my accumulated emails and the creation of a new posting.

I have just finished dealing with what my friend and fellow blogger from Talkeetna calls the ‘crud’. Throughout Alaska it is effecting different people with a number of different variations but all seem to follow a common course of extended pain and suffering accompanied with inability to sleep and frequent visits to the outhouse. So of course when it has finally run its course one has an almost euphoric sense of well being.

For me however with this feeling of wellbeing comes the realization that I have squandered a week of preparation for my road-trip. My original ‘plan-A’ was for me to depart Alaska on May 4th, just 45 days hence. But with the delay, though a minor one, I have begun to look at my ‘plan-B and Plan-C’ both of which have me leaving later in May.

My son, Anthony, will be arriving next month to help with the lowering and disassembly of my ham radio tower, but even that too is starting to look questionable because after all this is March in Alaska and we are currently awaiting a winter weather event, (meaning more snow). I guess I should take this opportunity, since a number of hams follow my postings, to offer the 55 foot push up military communications tower and the Mosley TA-33 antenna to anyone free of charge who would make the journey up and help with its disassembly.

I would be remiss if I did not mention the loss of blood I experienced when I heard about, first, the riot at the Trump rally in Chicago and of late the many demonstrations at or near current Trump rallies in Arizona. If I said the words ‘remember Ferguson and Baltimore’ will you understand the connection to the current disruption at Trumps gatherings? In the beginning in Ferguson and Baltimore there were riots where the police just stood by and were blamed for the ‘citizens’ actions. After the Chicago rally/riot the media blamed Trump for inciting the rioters ‘anger’. Now in Arizona the demonstrators were blocking the highways near where Trump would be speaking… does anyone remember these same actions in Ferguson and Baltimore?


It appears that the hand
of some national puppet-master
is once again pulling the strings
and thousands of people are dancing
to his tune of hatred
first against the police
and now against Trump


This posting made possible through Winlink
the ham radio emergency email system.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dwight permalink
    March 21, 2016 11:58 pm

    So glad to hear that you are feeling better, Pete!

    Like

  2. March 22, 2016 10:28 am

    That’s quite a nice tower and antenna – one ANY ham would be proud to own and use.

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    March 22, 2016 6:01 pm

    Let me guess, the national puppet master is none other than George Soros.
    These people are going wherever the front-runner and direct threat to Hillary is. Trump has little or nothing to do with these idiots showing up.

    Glad you’re feeling better, Pete. If your way to Texas goes through Minn. let us know. We’d love to see you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

