Skip to content

Leaving Alaska… Random thoughts on day 51

March 14, 2016

The moving ahead of the clocks last night for daylight savings time not only has my old body confused but as I changed the clock over my calendar I noticed how quickly time is passing until my departure. It is true that a couple days ago I mailed four boxes to my son in Texas but in looking at the floor of my cabin those four boxes were only the tip of the iceberg.

Actually shipping boxes though important is not even close to the major things that have to be dealt with to make this ‘snow-bird’ lifestyle work. I have decided not to trade in my truck for a newer one and will instead have my present one serviced before I leave. Then there is the even more important situation of leaving my daughter here in Alaska. Granted she is not a child but as many of you know ‘most’ parents never stop being concerned about their ‘children’s’ well being.

As far as the trip itself I do have many concerns. This is something I never had before when, in the mid 1990’s, I made 4 round trips from Alaska to my home in Philadelphia. I remember just hopping in the truck and leaving Alaska with nary a thought as to planning the actual drive. Now decades later I find myself wondering if I can still drive the 5-600 miles a day I did in the past. I also find myself pouring over the ‘Milepost’ checking where different campgrounds are located as backups for when I stop for the night.

This goes under the heading of I thought I had everything covered. Because about mid-day yesterday I noticed a ‘tickle’ in my throat and a little while later I started to cough and it has not stoped. Now twenty-four hours later and every time I cough it feels like my forehead is about to explode. So after spending the night attempting to sleep in a chair I wonder how I would fair if I was on the road and this happened.

Weather in Philly or Alaska I have for the most part lived near my daughter while my son and his wife have moved twice, for work, and ended up in Texas. Like any parent with children living in different parts of the country I feel I have short changed him by living so far away.

I am wondering if this concern is directed more at the physical part of the journey or the psychological leaving of my home of 20 years. Though as I sat this morning waiting for the first effects of the caffeine I realized I was wasting time…


With hundreds of things left to pack and do
it is no doubt best to just deal with each day
and pray I haven’t waited too long.

This posting made possible through Winlink
the ham radio emergency email system.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    March 14, 2016 1:57 pm

    Take a bit of pressure off yourself – why do you need to make it 500 miles per day? Maybe some days you’ll feel like it and some days you won’t. And if you’re getting a “bug”‘, at least you’re not driving yet – exciting, Pete :-)

    Like

  2. March 14, 2016 1:57 pm

    It is a big step you are undertaking…blessings to you on your journey!

    Like

  3. March 14, 2016 2:01 pm

    sounds like you are thinking in all the right areas…caught the same crud you now have ithas been over a month since first throat tickle and i am still coughing..lots of vicks on forehead and throat and lots of hard candy to soothie throat tickle…….the cough is the worst ..

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    March 14, 2016 2:50 pm

    Pete, why not get well first & then go? I had a cough for a couple of weeks, no other symptoms, went in & had bronchitis. Took some pills for a week & it’s gone.
    As Terry said, just go how you feel. You’re under no pressure other than what you put on yourself. You may not get your miles/day anyway with the break-up issues with the Alcan; frost heaves, etc.
    On the other hand, I know how you feel. If I’d come up there last Sept. alone, I would’ve been up half the night every night trying to photograph the aurora & try driving the next day. Crazy.
    Like John Wayne said a thousand times, “Take ‘er easy pilgrim!”

    Like

  5. Tricia permalink
    March 14, 2016 4:13 pm

    Terry’s reply seems to me advice you should really should think upon. And I don’t think you should think of it as being so far away from me but think of it as being a lot closer to your grandkids they’ve had even less time with you than Anthony or I have…

    Like

  6. unalaska permalink
    March 16, 2016 6:21 am

    Exciting times, Pete. And uncertain for sure. the month of May seems like a good time to make such an arduous trip. It also seems like the perfect way to introduce us to your new life as a city dweller…through a slow, gradual meandering down the road. Are you on a time schedule? If not, take it slow and easy. Make it a trip of a lifetime. I envy you the opportunity for a road trip….says this island bound girl.

    Like

Leave a Reply

