Skip to content

Super delegates…. proof that your vote does not count!

February 12, 2016

I have written before that what ‘we the people’ want from our government falls on deaf ears in mky2Washington, but as my morning coffee gradually awakened what few brain cells I still have they were shaken into awareness when Glen Beck was talking about the latest election news out of New Hampshire. It seems that although Mr Sanders won the election by 60% Mrs Clinton has gotten more delegates than Mr Sanders, and if we were to look at the total number of delegates already committed to them it is 394 super delegates for Clinton compared to the 42 that Bernie received even though he decimated her in the popular election and lost by a razors margin in Iowa.

How can someone who was nominated by the people of New Hampshire not be represented at the convention by more delegates than the person he handedly defeated? Simple… your vote does not count! It seems that the powers to be, both Democratic and Republican, have devised a way to move the nomination of a candidate in the direction they want regardless of the popular vote. In essence if you do not support the candidate they want they will just ignore you and their super delegates will vote for whomever they want.

On another little noticed item from the elections, when was the last time you heard any news cast or talking head ramble on about Ted Cruz and his win in Iowa or his third place win in New Hampshire? Most news reports spend quite a bit of time talking about how Kasich is now the man that will take down Trump. And though Rubio finished in fourth place he too is spoken about more than Cruz. No matter where you get your news it is all about Trump, Kasich and Rubio or Sanders and Clinton. Take for instance my typical day listening to the radio. From early morning with Rush through Mark Levin, Sean Hannity and Laura Ingraham Cruz’s name was only mentioned in passing if at all. Only one, Glenn Beck, spent any time pointing out that though still a strong contender he was treated as if talking about him and his success was verboten.

Our founding fathers established
one person one vote
the current leaders in both parties
are using the super delegates
to abolish that!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2016 7:12 pm

    You have established very good talking points, I have to admit. I will say, I do not respect any of the Republican contenders, except for John Kasich. Donald Trump and Tom Cruz are bigots and racists…and I cannot believe the negative rhetoric that spews forth from their mouths. Nevertheless, you do have a valid point and it just emphasizes to me how the MEDIA CONTROLS what people hear and where we are headed. We no longer have the ability or where-with-all to think for ourselves! The masses are controlled by propaganda! You are correct as I see it!

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    February 13, 2016 6:33 pm

    When I heard this news, I, too, wondered how that could be possible. I also wonder who these “super” delegates are. I also believe on the Democrat side, that no matter what Sanders does the nomination is going to go to Clinton because I think the Clintons run the party & the party owes Hillary for stepping aside for Obama in ’08.

    Like

  3. February 14, 2016 8:16 am

    Pete, I agree with you when you wrote: “…In essence if you do not support the candidate they want they will just ignore you and their super delegates will vote for whomever they want.” It certainly appears that way in NH. And although I am NOT a fan of any of the Republican contenders—ONLY one would have my support—John Kasich—this whole election process should be canned! And people should just send in a paper ballot. I am tired of it all.

    Like

Leave a comment