Skip to content

We are not alone

January 12, 2016

*This posting is dedicated to those who over the years have taken the time out of their lives to comment on my writings. Your comments have often unknowingly pulled on the mental strings that freed me from various feelings of depression and loneliness. More recently three comments have not only lifted this old curmudgeons spirits but put a smile on his face, thank you.

You may live in a crowded city or town but I believe at some time in your life you have seen a show or movie where a lone person is in a field, woods, desert or jungle and the IMG_0702camera slowley pulls upward and away to show the great expanse of emptiness that man is standing in. The purpose of the visual is to evoke the feeling of total isolation and loneliness the man is in. There are times when I bumble around my cabin when I do not need that visual because I am living that total isolation from all humanity.

There are times when I will not see another human for a week at a time and a feeling of isolation comes over me that can last from a few minutes to a number of days. Though self-inflicted, mostly because of my lack of the ability to walk more than a short distance, it is isolation just the same. So I have endeavored to fill my day with a routine of sorts so that there will seem like there are no open moments with nothing to do. 

One of these routines is my early afternoon time to write. I usually sit down about 2pm and either review something I have started or un-wrinkle that ball of notes from my pocket and use these crumbs of thought to assemble a new posting. However there are also times when strong emotions overwhelm and tell me to not bother writing anymore. It usually is preceded by a drought of cogent thought stretching over days or sometimes weeks and finally I am thinking why bother writing at all.

Well the ‘answer my friends is not blowing in the wind’ it is written by you in the comments section. It seems just when I truly need it you make a comment that inspires me or  takes me out of my malaise and uplifts me with your words. Notably of late a number of comments about the ‘Is the past gone forever’ posting, including one email from my daughter, that have reached out touched my soul and truly moved me.

So though we may think we are alone

one only has to open the door

and listen to the words

offered from those around us.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    January 12, 2016 4:58 pm

    Your writings are enjoyable to read and many times you’re saying what I’m thinking. I’m sure there are others who feel the same. I hope you don’t stop writing….I would miss it.

    I hope you’re enjoying your Texas visit :)

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    January 13, 2016 2:08 am

    Pete,
    I don’t subscribe to either or our local papers, but read your postings almost immediately. Seems to me you’re the more enjoyable read if you look at it that way. Keep up the great work, my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

