Skip to content

The quest to find what was lost

December 6, 2015

Some say absence makes the heart grow fonder, but personally I believe that only applies to our loved ones and not the writings of some old curmudgeon. Yes my postings have been few of late but it seems to me the spirit that motivated me, these past couple years, has departed from my soul.

In less than a week I will be boarding a plane that will take me to true ‘civilization’ and family but before I leave I wanted to impart a couple thoughts to you my friends and readers.

You will never know how much I appreciate your continued readership of my blog through this time of my mental emptiness. I know full well the lack of biting wit and moral and political irony that you have found of interest has been woefully absent. I do not know if it is caused by my inability to visit my blog and read your comments or the satisfaction I received when I could enhance my postings and blog with photography that has me in this slump.

…but by the end of next week I should be able to see if that lack of ‘access’ was the root cause for my inability to write creatively. Then again it just may be time for this old man to hang up my keyboard and move on? After all it is not like there are not important events happening on a daily basis for me to comment on. Yet the spark I once felt that was ignited by these events has not been transformed into words by me for you to read.

In any event you have hung in there this long I am only hoping you remain until I start to write from Texas and we will see if the change in environment and renewed access to the internet and wordpress will breath life into this currently hibernating curmudgeon.
…So I will light a candle and pray
that I find what was lost, or have the insight
to see the new path God wants me to follow.

This posting made possible through Winlink
the emergency ham radio email system.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    December 6, 2015 3:26 pm

    Wishing you an easy trip and a happy reunion !

    Like

  2. john permalink
    December 6, 2015 6:22 pm

    thanks Pete for all that you have done–for all of us 73 s john w8wej

    Like

  3. December 6, 2015 8:17 pm

    Well, it has been great to view your musings and sometimes a break can bring about even greater creativity/ideas. As you journey to civilization and family for Christmas and the Holidays, from my family and I to you and your family, “Merry Christmas and Happy New Year” – 73, kd7ltn

    Like

  4. Del permalink
    December 7, 2015 6:23 am

    keep them coming Pete…….

    Like

  5. December 7, 2015 7:12 am

    Sometimes we all need a break from the routine, Pete, even us retired types! You will definitely get a break traveling to Texas and spending a few months with family so maybe that will re-energize your passion for blogging? I do know that I largely gave up commenting on all the nonsense going on in the world because mine was just a tiny voice in a cacophony of other bloggers and ultimately I realized I was most unlikely to change anyone’s mind so what was I doing..? For the most part folks following my blog largely agreed with my perspectives and stands so in effect I was ‘preaching to the choir’. My solution was to largely return to the original basis for my blog; sharing stories and events of a solo man who chose to leave the urban lower 48 behind at 60 years of age and retire to semi-rural south central Alaska. I’m much happier sharing such experiences and who knows…maybe there is a book in there as so many of my friends keep insisting? Travel safe, enjoy the high speed broadband and spend all that quality time with family!!

    Like

  6. Jon permalink
    December 12, 2015 7:26 pm

    Been awhile since I checked my email so probably am the last to post but Pete, get on down to Texas & re-charge. You may be a little frustrated with the inability to visit your blog, too & that’s getting in the way of your creative juices. See some summer-like weather is going on in Texas today with tornadoes being reported.
    In any event, safe travels & looking forward to speaking with you!

    Like

  7. Texasjim permalink
    December 15, 2015 9:14 am

    Pete I hope you can find a way to keep writing. I have read almost every post of yours. I wish you the best while you are in my great state of Texas. I wish you a merry christmas

    Like

Leave a Reply

