Skip to content

Prepping isn’t just for disasters

November 29, 2015

As I sit in my loft and write this posting it is noon and the weak Alaskan winter sun has barely cleared the ridge line of the hills across the valley. But it is sunshine and seeing it for the first time in many days is a welcome sight. Though the snow for now has moved elsewhere the clear sky’s have prompted our temperatures to drop, so even at noon it is barely eight degrees.

Though not an expert I have over the years written a number of blogs about ‘prepping’. For those who do not know what prepping is my definition of ‘prepping’ is preparing for any emergency or disaster that would force you to live without outside help. Yes it does take me back to the days when I was, now don’t laugh, a boy scout with their motto of ‘be prepared’. Of course living 65 miles from civilization one does realize there are times when a 120 mile round trip for gas for the generator or milk for your coffee is indeed a bit much.

Of course like most of the world I was not always thinking like this. For 48 years living in Philadelphia with supermarkets and malls only a few blocks from my house one never thought about storing essentials. Whenever we had a good snow storm or hurricane we just drove over to the nearby store and bought a couple days worth of bread and milk. However as the people around New York and New Orleans found out during their hurricanes it was weeks not days before they could get much needed food and water.

Well tomorrow will mark the 14th day since I was last in town getting supplies and I had no problems because I had a pantry full of food and a number of jugs of water to carry me through, but how long would you be OK if you could not get out to get supplies or for that matter how long would you last if for some reason all the stores in your area were shut down?

Yes I am sure you are thinking you have enough to carry you through any problems, but I am sure this is not exactly true. I have talked about prepping to my children and they say they have plenty but when they show me their pantry I see barely a scant couple days of food and water. I am not saying you need a years worth of supplies but what harm is there in having a months supply of extra food and water?


Though I had plenty of food and water
as I did battle with the day in day out snowfall
I did run out of one item
a rarely used medicine
that I am now sure I will
never again forget.

This posting is made possible through Winlink
the emergency amateur radio email system.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Claudia permalink
    November 29, 2015 1:59 pm

    Don’t forget to prep for TX!
    Shorts, bathing suit, paint brush…. We look forward to your arrival!

    Like

  2. November 30, 2015 7:49 am

    Good piece, Pete, with some very savvy thoughts. Most folks would be clueless if an EMP burst at altitude took down the electrical infrastructure in the lower 48. Stores only maintain a five day inventory and many foods are more like three days. With everything using a computer of some form nowadays and said ‘computers’ being very sensitive to an EMP life as we know it would come to a screeching halt. People never think about basics like electricity, water and sewage until they don’t have it. Of course by that time it is too late. Keeping water in plastic jugs is a wise move as is having a ‘bug out’ bag with all the essentials. One thing so many people overlook is basic medical supplies. That’s especially true of antibiotic salves; I keep a couple of different kinds in my bug out bag and I rotate them after a number of years of storage. Sometimes it is the most minor things that could save one’s life..!

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    November 30, 2015 6:06 pm

    You are reminding me to re-stock my water supplies; been using it in our new water pot to boil water for instant coffee as our tap water has too many minerals in it. Saying this as we’re experiencing our first real snow fall this year.

    Like

  4. tito luis permalink
    December 1, 2015 5:04 am

    Warm greetting from Indonesia :)

    Like

  5. December 2, 2015 8:41 am

    Food and water are the easy things- but medicine is one I think most often forgotten. Pain meds, band aids, immodium, etc. And especially any prescription meds- AND any particular items you need to prepare and administer those meds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

