Skip to content

My thoughts on Thanksgiving

November 24, 2015

For some reason this weekend before Thanksgiving my mind is wondering to an old move title, ‘The good, the bad and the ugly’. It could be because looking out my cabin window what I see and its consequences, evoke a similarity between those words and the situation out here. The good because the temperature has now gone from 19 below zero to 12 above, the bad because I am in the midst of another plentiful snowfall, and the ugly of course for the hours of work I need to clear those millions of angles tears from my driveway.

But with even this facing me it is nothing compared to what the world now faces on almost a daily basis. From terrorists bombings around the globe, to the citizens of this nation who now can no longer shoulder the financial burden of daily life with just one job. Add to this the concern for the loss of morality in our nation and in our children’s schools and my task of shoveling snow is truly insignificant.

Of course the glass that is half empty is also half full so one must not obsess over the negative and should always look toward the positive. So on this weekend before Thanksgiving I have decided to reflect on the things that are positive in my life. Physically my family is healthy and is blessed with jobs and the ability to survive and though at times shaken, my belief in God is strong. With this as my foundation and with my family there for support I am better able to face the uncertainties of the world we live in.


So I can sit down this Thanksgiving
and know without a doubt that
though my family faces challenges
we can give thanks for our
many blessings.


This posting made possible through Winlink
the emergency ham radio email system.

Some blog photographs are now being posted on
my Face Book page at Peter Burokas

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2015 3:22 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving, Pete…!

    Like

  2. Dwight permalink
    November 24, 2015 4:11 pm

    On the grand scale of things, we Americans are truly blessed!

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    November 26, 2015 4:42 am

    Happy Thanksgiving Pete & Trisha! Pete, looking forward to our annual holiday conversation when you get to Texas. Safe travels.Looks like the weather is pretty nasty up there right now state-wide so be careful! We may see an inch or so or snow later on today.
    In spite of the goings-on in the world, we can still be thankful we live where we do & are still a free society. God bless America.

    Like

Leave a Reply

