Skip to content

An Alaskan epiphany…. or time to move on?

October 12, 2015

The thoughts in my mind are like adding a dye to swirling water, mixing and blending to a common nothingness. Hundreds of things to write about and hundreds more to deal with in the real world now all mixing together and creating a noise in my head that borders on insanity……….

….At one time or another over the years the postings on this blog have been read, digested and commented on by thousands of people from around the world. My words have touched people from China to Germany and Australia to Iceland and in the United States from California to Pennsylvania and Florida to Ohio. Some have even ventured forth from the lower forty eight, Germany and Australia to visit this old curmudgeon’s cabin…..but until now I have never stopped to think why anyone would be interested in what I think or have to say.

A couple of recent events have prompted this mental house cleaning including my current inability to use this computer to access my wordpress blog and a reader taking issue with what I have written. Those of you that have followed me for a while know, weather you agree or disagree with my postings, I have never censored any comments. These postings are my thoughts about a subject and the comments are your thoughts and unlike those in Washington and the media I do believe in free speech.

I have however come to think about the many times I listen to the radio and wonder just who is this person explaining a theory or some new international incident? Then I wonder why their opinion should matter on that subject, and this is when my epiphany happened. Who am I to think that what I think matters? I am just some old guy living alone out in the woods, so why should what I say matter to anyone. I have no expertise on anything, and absolutely no experience in politics, philosophy or psychology so what value could there be to what I think about these subjects?

I have been told that over the years my policy of starting a posting and leaving it on the computers desktop to simmer then going back every day to reread it and add or subtract something that enriches it, produced some of my best work. However of late I have tried to stay current and publish a posting shortly after what prompted it, and this has diminished the quality of my work. When I went back into old postings I see that this simmering of a posting is a correct assumption. Not being a writer when I quickly create a posting it lacks ‘flavor’.


By that I mean it is like the books I cherish
because they not merely present a story
they surround the basic story with writing
that enriches it, ‘flavors it’,
and leaves you
wanting
more.

Thanks to Winlink
the ham radio emergency email system
for making this posting possible.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2015 1:19 pm

    I enjoy reading your postings. The views of an old Alaskan porkie(Ham) Curmudgeon can either be quite enlightening, or in many cases just state How I also feel (on political type matters) over here in Rochester, New York… de KD7LTN

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    October 12, 2015 2:11 pm

    Pete, you say you’re not an expert politician or philosopher. So what? Look what ” experienced” politicians have given us: $18 trillion debt, an education system that borders on disaster & their only answer is to spend more money, regulations, taxes, laws that more & more usurp our freedoms, changes to our history that are anti-American in my opinion,
    The war on poverty is really a war on the American worker, taxing more to give to those who do nothing but are entitled to more. Thank God you’re not an experienced politician!

    Your philisophical musings & facts are well thought out & make more sense to us readers than a lot of so-called educated scholars could ever come up with in their deepest moments. Maybe it’s because they’re deep in something else! LOL!

    Like

  3. Del permalink
    October 13, 2015 5:35 am

    Yea Pete. Jon hit the nail on the head. Keep them coming. Go Gators!

    Like

  4. October 13, 2015 7:19 am

    Some days we are the sign …some days the sign post…. both are needed….go outside on the next clear night build a fire and sit and just watch the sky….just because you still can…

    Like

  5. October 16, 2015 5:13 pm

    I think many of us write as a means of sharing our thoughts with others; there is no ‘agenda’ or requirement that our postings somehow influence others or make some sort of impact. Just the airing of ideas, thoughts and perspectives in a truly open forum does give one a sense of ‘freedom’ and definitely reinforces the precious nature of freedom of speech. And sometimes discussions are ignited which lead to some folks thinking more about a particular topic than they might have otherwise done…

    Like

Leave a Reply

