Skip to content

The view from my window… a fire update

July 16, 2015

P1020765For the past three days we have had some very strong showers here at the cabin. The rain though creating temporary rivers in the dirt has quelled the Aggie Creek fire and dissipated the smoke so now only the White mountains to my East are shrouded in white.

Then this morning I was greeted with welcome rays of intense sunshine, which not only filled my batteries with much needed solar energy, but also cut through my mood that was as dark as the smoke filled skies. Though not quite ready to ponder the intricacies of national or world events for this blog my spirit has brightened enough to let you know the fire is being dispatched by hundreds of souls on the fire line and now also apparently with aide from the heavens above.

On Wednesday I had occasion to meet some of these hardy men who travel far from their homes to battle fires and I must admit I came away inspired. The men I met were from North Dakota and as they drank there coffee they embodied an ‘ah shucks’ attitude over the sacrifice they exhibited each day on the fire line. These young men traveled thousands of miles to place themselves in danger to protect our homes with never a thought that they may never return to their families.

I say this because I remember the forest fire in Arizona where within minutes a fire reversed course and killed an entire group of smoke jumpers. Yes I know these men are paid to fight these fires but for the most part fire fighters fight fires in or near their own homes, these men are literally in the middle of nowhere and still they have the resolve to do a job and do it well.

My thanks and prayers
goes out to everyone of those
firefighters who are here in Alaska
risking their lives to protect our homes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2015 10:19 am

    Forget Hollywood or sports figures; our military, first responders and firefighters are the true heroes in the 21st Century! Also sad to see they are among the lowest paid professionals… Glad to hear the fires are getting doused; we’ve seen 0.68″ of rain as of 07:00 this morning and it continues to come down in moderate to heavy rain. We need it so I can deal with the mud and water!

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    July 19, 2015 6:10 pm

    Nothing I can add to either of your comments, guys. Maybe we can still make that trip up there come Sept. Good news for now but be vigilant.

    Like

Leave a Reply

