Skip to content

A helping hand with the circle of life

July 9, 2015
IMG_7710**This blog started out as a means for me to communicate with my family, and over the years metamorphosed into what is happening in the world today as viewed by an old curmudgeon living in the wilderness. Well based on my last posting I have come full circle and I am reverting back to more personal feelings and observations. I do not know where I am headed with this or if this is just a road-sign along life’s twisted road but it looks like you will have to bear with me a bit longer on my detour.

 

It is a long strange trip that I have been on both with my life and with this blog. Physically I have journeyed to 39 states Mexico, Canada and the Far East. During this journey I have worked everything from security, pizza maker, salesman, taxi driver, auditor, short order cook, big rig driver, printing pressman, oil field hand, video editor to Alaskan hunting and fishing guide. I have experienced some of the many varieties of emotions that life can expose us to from the unbounded happiness of the birth of my children and grand children to the lingering pain of the death’s of my wife and parents. It may also seem that I have overcome enormous obstacle’s traveling down this road because in 2002 I was given two years to live due to a bad heart and I am writing this posting 13 years later, then again we know doctors are not always right with their diagnosis.

But in the grand scheme of things my life is average compared to some and unremarkable compared to most. I have had the privilege to encounter hundreds of people on this journey whose life I could only hope to emulate but know I could never equal. I have experienced personal charity both with tangible aide and more importantly emotional help with never a thought of compensation. Of these I value the highest those who took the time to listen to the rants and ramblings of this inane old man. Some of these who have had the patience of a saint to listen to me are family but I have over the years found a rare few golden nuggets of understanding from who were at first strangers but are now I hope friends.

It is those who listen without reproach and
instead offer understanding
and at times direction
that enable one to resume the journey
down life’s road.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. john permalink
    July 10, 2015 3:19 am

    so glad that you have made the turn,, most of us have been there , some of us several times–we need to “pruned” from time to time for strength and growth -a natural need–with out it we would surely not survive or prosper.. my couple of cents gl 73 john w8wej

    Like

  2. July 10, 2015 5:37 am

    The travels of our spirit will out live them all. So glad we’ve bumped into each other here on the road of life.

    Like

  3. July 10, 2015 6:03 am

    “Who forces time is pushed back by time; who yields to time finds time on his side”. ~The Talmud…..
    Dear Pete….when one gets to the cross road in life they should just flip a coin and go with the flow…

    Like

  4. July 10, 2015 9:00 am

    We’re all in this together, my Friend! One of the most noble things we can do is be available to our fellow human beings sans judgment; I’ve learned so much more by listening as versed with talking…

    Like

  5. Jon permalink
    July 11, 2015 7:11 pm

    I would say living where you do is remarkable compared to some of us city dwellers. Also I find your viewpoints on life, politics, etc. to be thoughtful & in lots of cases precise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

