Skip to content

Cherish each moment

May 31, 2015

tatart

After saying goodbye to my son in Fairbanks my mind drifted on the ride back to my cabin. The tepid warmth of the sun filling the truck only adding to my semiconscious state, as tens of thousands of acres of trees passed by. This passage from the crush of civilization to this vast open nothingness was mentally akin to snuggling deeply into a warm comforter on a cold night. Its embrace made one feel at ease as if this is where one belonged.

It was a great visit with my son because beside having accomplished a myriad of chores around the cabin we had a number of very good conversations some of which that would be life changing. The weather cooperated so that not only work could be accomplished but he could also enhance his life’s avocation with a number of truly amazing video clips. My daughter and he also managed to spend time together at the beginning and end of his visit.

To most it would have been a vacation to an exotic destination
but to my son and I
a time to bond
and cherish
some of the time
left for us on life’s road.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    May 31, 2015 8:23 pm

    Sounds nice, Pete. Glad you all enjoyed the visit.

    Like

  2. June 1, 2015 8:45 am

    Waxing poetic, Pete? Maybe something in the air up here as I’ve been extremely retrospective of late…

    Like

  3. June 8, 2015 3:28 pm

    It was a very good trip indeed. I already miss being there.

    The thing I miss most? The quiet.

    There’s a highway near me, a fish tank motor, air conditioning blowers, the whir of a desktop computer fan, lawns being mowed, jets far overhead, a constant din.

    I realized when I was there that I didn’t use any microphone to shoot the video- I didn’t need to. Everything was just so quiet that words spoken were clear and well heard. That’s nary impossible down in “civilization.”

    Of course that “quiet” also permeates the amateur radio spectrum, making it hard to reach out to people, those few times I could hear some on the radio.

    I’m glad to have helped where needed. Happy to have enjoined this adventure again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

