Skip to content

Is God listening?

May 22, 2015
IMG_1309

Photo by Tricia

When one prays day after day, year after year, and perceives no answer one wonders if God is listening? Don’t get me wrong I am not expecting the answer to come in the form of a burning bush but is it truly necessary to have absolute faith that your prayers are answered before one understands that they were? I guess I should remember the words of Jesus in (*Mark 12:24) that “…all that you ask for in prayer, believe you have received it and it will be yours”.

At times I even wonder why God would take one second to consider my words when my life has been full of moments contrary to His laws. Who am I to think that God, who has the power to create everything in existence, would even notice me let alone my needs. But then who was he speaking to when he said through Jesus that (**Mat 6:8) ‘he knows what you need before you ask’? When you add to that the fact that my prayers are not for myself, but for the welfare of others some totally without sin and a seed of doubt creeps in.

So what is one to do, give up almost 70 years of belief in God, or continue to pray and believe that He truly understands the needs of those I pray for? As I walk these final miles during my remaining years am I to now to loose my lifelong partner on this journey of life because I think he does not hear me?

I think not……
because like a child who looks to his father
for everything in their early life
God is indeed my heavenly Father
and he will give me what He knows I need.

*New American Bible, St Josephs edition Catholic bible
**NIV study bible
3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2015 10:33 pm

    Hi Pete, I think God knows you better than you do. God’s top priority is always the salvation of souls. He will not give you or others health or material gains if it harms your soul, but I suspect you might already know this by faith. The depth of your love of God is directly related to the amount of trust you have in Him. And the best way to increase in love of God Is to pray for what God desires, not your own. I pray for the salvation of souls and the intentions of the Blessed Mother and leave the details to God to figure out. Also, saying I love You, Lord, when I can deepens my faith. I hope this helps and I invite you to visit my blog MaryRefugeOfHolyLove as it has a lot resources that will help you in your faith journey. God bless!

    Like

  2. Dwight permalink
    May 23, 2015 12:02 am

    Was the universe always here, or was it somehow created? I prefer to believe in the latter. The universe/multiverse was created in all its incredible detail, both macro and micro. The Creator made laws of physics, nature, life, everything else, and it somehow hums along smoothly without interruption, no matter what we humans do. Amazing!

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    May 23, 2015 5:59 pm

    Never thought I’d live or imagine such an attack on Christian beliefs as all of us are witnessing now.
    With Memorial Day coming soon, Want to thank all those of you on here who served our country in one capacity or another for your service & also your family members.
    Have a safe & thoughtful Memorial Day, all.
    God bless America.

    Like

Leave a Reply

