Skip to content

…a thought about Mothers day

May 9, 2015

My stomach was grumbling as I finished my home work and the attention that was focused on the imports and exports of South America faded as I was becoming aware of the wonderful aroma of a roast sitting on the dinner table. A meal fit for kings was conjured up daily for this blue collar family by a woman that at the time I took for granted, my mother. Now alone and cooking for myself I can not fathom how she accomplished this feat everyday. I have problems cooking anything that does not come from a can yet she produced meals like a roast, mashed potatoes, vegetables and garden salad on a daily basis.

My father and I may have done the dishes and taken out the trash but it was truly nothing compared to my mothers day. The amount of work my mom did from morning breakfast to packing lunches and shopping for groceries then intersperse the day with keeping a home a spotless as a laboratory you have a 365 day a year job no one would ever want. With all this work she still found time for affection for my dad and hugs when I need them.

Looking back now I can only feel saddened at how I took advantage of her efforts and treated them with indifference. I can only say to you who’s mother is still alive do not make the same mistake. Reach out whenever you can and let her know that she is appreciated and loved.

Because there will come a time
when you will not be able to show her how you feel
or tell her that you love her.Mom & Dad 2

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    May 9, 2015 7:41 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day to all of you who still have your Mom around to treat today (and everyday!)

    Like

  2. May 10, 2015 6:33 am

    If you still have your Mom around be thankful and honor her not just on this day but every day..!!!

    Like

  3. May 13, 2015 8:44 pm

    Your mom was a lovely woman, Pete!

    Like

  4. May 14, 2015 12:34 pm

    Sounds like a hardworking woman who loved to bless her family. My mom was gone from this earth far too early, but I hope to become just even a portion of the wonderful mom she was!

    Like

Leave a Reply

