Skip to content

An eclectic view out the cabin window…. snow, mud, bugs and television

April 23, 2015

With snow in some places still measured in feet, water running freely down the drive and mud grabbing your every step it is indeed a diverse view out my cabin window. The milder overnight temperatures not demanding the warmth of a burning stove, however one wakes to a chill that evokes memories of a fall hunt camp. The daytime temperatures rising to the 50’s and more now arousing the slumbering mosquitoes waiting to be reborn. Though not without the chance to still experience additional snowfall, here on the edge of nowhere spring has finally arrived.

Like this hodgepodge of warmth and cold, wet and dry my mind is filled with ambiguities both personal and inconsequential. While attending to some chores during the day my mind alights on a subject for a new blog but when the work is done so too that supremely important posting….gone like the mist rising from a stream. At other times sitting at my work table listening to some commentator drone on about how my representatives in Juneau can not find the necessary cuts in our states budget, I wonder how hard they are truly endeavoring to make those cuts while not offending their financial supporters.

Yesterday evening as I sat and worked to support my addiction to tobacco, by making my own cigarettes and a truly weird train of thought passed through my consciousness. Many of you know I have no television reception out here but I do spend a couple hours almost every night watching DVD’s. I lean toward television crime series and thoroughly enjoy a good show where you never know who committed the crime till the last minute.

At the time I was pondering why so many good crime shows loose their viewers and are canceled. It was then I realized that just maybe there are many more people out there who appreciate things the way I do. I say this because almost every show canceled was because the writers or producers lost their focus on what made them interesting in the first place.

I have found that when one finds a show that is well written with believable actors you will invest your time and continue to watch it. However for some reason when a show is renewed for a few years, the powers that be, think they must ‘make it better’. They start to go off in tangents about the characters ‘back-story’, or introduce new characters that they believe would make the show more ‘edgy’ and even start to span a particular crime over a large number of episodes. I have to ask ‘why’ are they messing with a good thing. If they have a growing audience with consistent good numbers in viewership why change what is obviously what the viewers like and want?

Maybe one of the benefits of me living alone out here in the woods
without the stress of civilization is that it
allows me to ponder maters from life and death to the mundane.
…and like the arrival of spring this blog will
like the pendulum of life swing from one subject to the other.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2015 10:05 pm

    with regards to the crime shows , my favourite of all time was Columbo , somewhat radical in that it showed you who committed the crime straight away and then good old Peter Falk would wear them down with his torturous personality and eccentric habits.

    Like

  2. April 24, 2015 4:22 am

    Thoughts gone like the mist rising from a lake… that’s beautiful, and true.

    Like

  3. April 24, 2015 8:28 am

    Not being a fan of crime shows of any type I’ll not try to speak to them directly; however, Hollywood seems to have adopted the Microsoft philosophy of changing the GUI and location of functions every few years just so they can claim it is ‘improved’. Producers just seem unable to allow a successful format to roll on unchanged for years; they just feel they must ‘tinker’ in violation of the all too true axiom ‘if it ain’t broke don’t fix it’! Our snow pack is history except for the drifted areas and the piles created by snow removal. And, yes, those huge ‘over-winter’ mosquitoes are lumbering about but they are noisy, slow and hence easy to kill. Pretty soon we’ll begin to see this year’s first born crop and they are a whole different story..!

    Like

  4. Jon permalink
    April 24, 2015 6:40 pm

    Antony mentioned Columbo; his habit of fumbling & stumbling around to eventually get the perp was sometimes irritating to the watcher. My Dad liked Barnaby Jones & Cannon as did I. Something else missing is a good western. This is why Bruce Springsteen has the song “57 channels & nothing on.” True.

    Like

  5. April 26, 2015 2:18 pm

    I love crime shows as long as they aren’t focused on grusome things. I tried watching Dexter and found it too weird for my tastes. Political and intrigue are my favorites like Homeland. LOVE that show! I used to like The Good Wife back when the main character had a thing for the other attorney. But like you said, they killed him off and then the show (to me) was never the same. Have I mentioned I love the way you write? :-)

    Like

  6. April 29, 2015 9:36 pm

    Yes, the mosquitos are slumbering no more! They seem big this year, but I think that’s just a familiar shock every spring…

    Like

Leave a Reply

