Skip to content

A tranquil Saturday in Alaska

April 11, 2015
DSCF2162.JPG

Friday afternoon

Its noon on a quiet Saturday as I sit in the cabin’s loft loft writing this posting. For a couple weeks now, here at the cabin, the temperatures have been in the mid to upper 40’s and bare patches of earth have have begun to reveal themselves as Spring settles in. But like most things in life nothing, not even the change in seasons, is guaranteed. For when I awoke this morning all evidence of those bare patches had been eradicated by the serenely falling snow.

My mood of late, like the weather out here, has been one of changes and swings from one extreme to the other. And other than the local news about the Dalton Highway shut down it has been almost a week since my last posting of national consequence. This is of course is not because of a loss of subject matter available for me to grumble over and pontificate on, but rather a personal mental quandary that has been bubbling to the surface more and more of late.

Those of you who are true accomplished writers understand that sometimes personal dilemmas can interfere with their writing, and for a non-writer like myself it has literally stopped any creative process in its tracks. I find it hard to ‘don’ the persona of a curmudgeon living in solitary self imposed exile in the Alaskan wilderness. At the same time espousing observations of a political or social nature, while pondering the extinction of my current lifestyle.

DSCF2165.JPG

Saturday morning

However I am hopeful
that like many other twists and detours down my ‘life’s road’
there is a solution to this current conundrum.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2015 7:29 pm

    Do you ever get lonely or depressed from lack of sunshine? Here in Georgia it’s been in the eighties and I just finished planting. Built a chicken coop, bought chickens and rabbits.

    Like

  2. April 11, 2015 7:54 pm

    Still cold there ? I know what you mean about the writing… I feel blocked these days

    Like

  3. Dwight permalink
    April 12, 2015 1:22 am

    Cabin fever can get to anyone, especially in the northern climes. Hang in there Pete, spring is on the way.

    Like

  4. April 12, 2015 7:02 am

    Hey Buddy – at least this most recent bout of writer’s block is rather fragmentary in nature as versed with some previous times in which the block seemed solid and immutable. Like so much in life ‘this too shall pass’! At least you don’t have my situation; I have at least six great ideas to blog but given I can only type one handed the best I can do is save notes for each one and hope this cast will come off in another 15 days! I abhor having ideas but not being able to express them on my blog…

    Like

  5. Jon permalink
    April 12, 2015 7:15 am

    Friday morning, I drove home in between shifts in a heavy snow shower; 3 hours later it was 55 & sunny. 68 yesterday. That’s April for you. In Mn. I’ve seen 20″ of snow in ’83 & ’01. I’ve seen 95 degrees & golf ball hail & a tornado outbreak in ’97 or thereabouts; I didn’t see the tornadoes, but one was 3/4 mile wide.

    Like

  6. April 13, 2015 3:24 pm

    don’t say…,moving to Florida?

    Like

Leave a Reply

