Skip to content

Federalization of the internet and wordpress

February 22, 2015

P.1On February 26th the FCC will rule on a 332 page bill submitted by the President that regulates the internet, wherein it states ???? Oh did I forget to mention that the contents are secret until after the vote by the FCC. This reminds me of what Nancy Pelosi said about oboma-care that we must pass the bill before we can see whats in the bill. I believe the internet has done a fair job of regulating itself so far so why does oboma want a new set of federal regulations and have those rules enforced by the FCC?

Today on the radio a member of the FCC’s voting board was on the air talking about how outside regulation would only mean increases in the price of internet access. He spoke in generalities because of the ‘gag order’ in place but did mention that these regulations would deal with allocation of bandwidth meaning that the big guys would win out over the smaller internet providers, and in some cases put them out of business. This would result in a quasi monopoly and thus higher rates for the consumer.

I assume that the billions who use the internet are OK with federalizing the internet
because there has been no ground swell of protest against it.
But I wonder
how many censorship clauses are in that bill?

<><><><><>

A quick note of a personal nature with regard to my blog. For those who have been with me for a while you will notice the lack of photographs scattered throughout different postings and now a total loss of any links to articles I quote in the posting. I apologize but wordpress is not allowing me to do either operation. The buttons are there but when I click them nothing happens. A reader commented on my ‘Friday-fiction’ posting about something I wrote that the President said and I had to email her the link because I could not even copy and paste the link to the bottom of the posting like I had done previously. I believe this could be due to any of several factors, like my having an old browser or antiquated operating system or the fact that because I am connected to the internet server over a 300 foot WiFi link.

In any event I apologize for any inconvenience
and if you ever want further clarification of something I have written
just drop me a line
and I will send the relevant links back to you.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2015 7:31 am

    I’m so annoyed about internet speed and how speed will equate to how much money one has. Therefore, once again, the people with the most money will have more information because in this day and age, speed is everything.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. February 23, 2015 1:06 pm

    Just read this and holy wow. That’s potentially Bad News, for the idea of the internet- finding information on things (like the news in your area or the world from different places in the world on one topic- I myself am in the UK)! I imagine the lack of reaction might just be a hush hush attitude and manner.

    Re-blogging this(Hope it goes viral. How is this lack of knowing-what-we’re-voting-for helping?! Plausible deniability, maybe..)

    Erm. Assuming your WP is the same format as mine- for links, there are two ways for the same buttons. The first is to show a link on-post and people click it and it’s the same. The other is where you can choose a word/phrase ‘title’ or what you like, and that will have the link.

    Way One- If you are copying and pasting the URL (Address from the top of your browser) directly onto your post, highlight it, and then press the ‘insert/edit link’ button icon (it is a link, unbroken). You will be able to use it when you’ve highlighted the link. A window pops up, still word press. I’d suggest clicking the box for ‘open link in another window/tab’ so people can still have the blog post they are reading up…but your choice. The title option just gives a name for the link when hovering over it with your mouse.

    Way Two is practically the same just you highlight a word/phrase you have typed, then click the open link icon (‘insert/edit link’), then have to insert the URL (so have it handy on another tab or already waiting to paste). Then the same for ‘title’ and the tick box.

    Lastly- the closed link/broken link will cancel out the linked words.

    Hope that helps!

    Like

  3. February 23, 2015 1:07 pm

    Reblogged this on chickenangel07 and commented:
    Just read this and holy wow. That’s potentially Bad News, for the idea of the internet- finding information on things (like the news in your area or the world from different places in the world on one topic- I myself am in the UK)! I imagine the lack of reaction might just be a hush hush attitude and manner.

    Re-blogging this(Hope it goes viral. How is this lack of knowing-what-we’re-voting-for helping?! Plausible deniability, maybe..)

    Like

  4. February 23, 2015 9:00 pm

    Pete, I sometimes can’t get WordPress to work correctly in one browser, while another works just fine. So you might try another. In Chrome, I can’t see the “like” avatars but I can in Safari, etc.

    Watched CitizenFour tonight. I’m guessing you will have something to say about it? Hope so.

    Like

  5. Jon permalink
    February 28, 2015 3:22 am

    Just like obamacare, they know we’re not going to like the results of this bill, that’s why the big secret. For all we know, every word we write now is scrutinized with this totalitarian administration, especially if we’re not one of the sheep.

    Like

Leave a Reply

